We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .

×

COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

The Recovery of Rose Gold
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

A chilling exploration into obsession, reconciliation and revenge in 2020's must-read.

About the Author

Stephanie Wrobel grew up in Chicago but has been living in the UK for the last three years with her husband and dog, Moose Barwinkle. She has an MFA from Emerson College, has had short fiction published in Bellevue Literary Review, and was nominated for the 2018 PEN/Robert J. Dau Short Story Prize for Emerging Writers. Before turning to fiction, she worked as a creative copywriter at various advertising agencies.

Reviews

An absolutely brilliant book; funny, dark, authentic and a total page turner. I loved it * Lisa Jewell, bestselling author of The Family Upstairs *
Sensationally good - two complex characters power the story like a nuclear reaction, and won't let you forget them. Wrobel is one to watch. * Lee Child *
A rivetingly nasty psychological duel * Sunday Times *
With a genuine menace seeping from every twist and turn, the two central characters inhabit every page with captivating ferocity, and the denouement is worthy of Patricia Highsmith at her finest: quite superb * Daily Mail *
Pacey and vivid, this is a delicate, merciless probing of a topicas unsettling as it is intriguing, with no pat answers * The Guardian *
A spine-chilling thriller injected with themes of obsession and revenge . . . Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl and Paula Hawkin's The Girl on the Train, The Recovery of Rose Gold is set to be next year's biggest thriller * Stylist *
A dark, nerve-jangling read that kept us on the edge of our seats till the very end * Independent *
Takes twisted mum and daughter relationships to a whole new level. Think Misery meets Sharp Objects * C. J. Tudor, bestselling author of The Chalk Man *
You'll be hooked on this revenge tale * Crime Monthly *
It's rare for something genuinely fresh to come along in this genre, but this book has it all - a killer premise, twisty plotting, crisp writing and compelling characters. Dazzling, dark and utterly delicious * J P Delaney, bestselling author of The Girl Before *
One of the most captivating and disturbing thrillers I've read this year. An astonishing debut * Samantha Downing, author of My Lovely Wife *
I inhaled this book. The Recovery of Rose Gold delves so deep into family dysfunction that we are left gasping as the last pages turn. Compelling, intriguing, beautifully written and paced like a roller coaster ride, cancel all your plans when you pick up this terrific book * Liz Nugent, bestselling author of Unraveling Oliver and Lying in Wait *
I love it. Fascinating, immersive, whip-smart, with a supremely clever ending that left me gasping (and slightly devastated in the best way) * Melanie Golding, author of Little Darlings *
Wrobel writes a fascinating and thrilling debut that looks deeply into the complicated reasons a mother and daughter can hurt each other. A psychological twister that had me completely captivated until the end * Diane Les Becquets, author of Breaking Wild *
Deliciously sinister. I defy any reader to work out exactly what these two spectacularly unreliable narrators are up to * Reader's Digest *
A blackly comic and original novel with a fascinatingly complex heroine in Rose Gold - you will be both horrified by and rooting for her * Heat *
A stunning exploration of love, revenge, and the devastating impact of childhood trauma. It's dark, disturbing and utterly gripping * CrimeSquad *
I absolutely devoured it! It's right up my street and I couldn't get enough of Patti and Rose Gold, alternating my opinion of them at the same speed that I was turning the pages! A fabulous read! * Sandie Jones, author of The Other Woman *
Superb! And seriously twisted. This book will play with your mind...then STAY on your mind. Compelling and very, very clever * Teresa Driscoll, bestselling author of I Will Make You Pay. *
Two extraordinary narrators drive the nail-biting action in this sensational, compulsively readable debut. A tour de force of captivating psychological suspense * Gilly Macmillan *
An original, stunning debut! Masterful crafting of a split time-frame and utterly compelling characters will hook readers from the very first page until they finally learn the truth hiding within this chilling mother-daughter relationship. An intelligent, beguiling read that should be at the top of every reader's list * Wendy Walker *
More than a page-turner-although it's undoubtably that - The Recovery of Rose Gold plumbs the depths of this poisoned mother-daughter relationship, asking probing questions about why we all hurt the ones we love. An explosive debut from a thrilling new voice * Kirsten Chen, author of Bury What We Cannot Take *
A blackly comic and original novel with a fascinatingly complex heroine in Rose Gold - you will be both horrified by and rooting for her * Heat *
Wrobel has crafted two gloriously complex characters who will swing the reader between horrified disbelief and empathy in the turn of a single page. Wrobel uses witty writing and clever plotting to ensure the reader will fly through the pages in search of the truth. It takes profound skill to craft such a twisty and darkly entertaining read, and Wrobel does it in her debut as deftly as only the best thriller writers can do * Amy Stuart, #1 bestselling author of Still Mine and Still Water *
Intelligent. Highly disturbing * Literary Review *
Very rarely does a book like The Recovery of Rose Gold come along . . . this is a book that wastes no time in enticing in a reader and keeping them guessing until the very last page * Culturefly *
Sinister and chilling . . . The writing flows beautifully and I felt like each character was confiding in me, trusting me with their secrets. I loved every bit of this thrilling story and the ending was brilliant and perfect. It's an amazing debut looking at the tangled web of a controlling mother/daughter relationship and a must read in my opinion * NB Magazine *
Taut, twisted and with two terrifically toxic narrators, this thriller offers a wonderfully wicked perspective on complicated mother-daughter relationships. Gripping * Psychologies *
Striking. Unsettling yet compelling reading * Oxford Times *
It will make you laugh on one page, exhibiting the darkest of humour, and then make you shudder at the very next * Chat Special *
A gritty story of truth and fantasy * Sainsbury's Magazine *
Must read * Hello *
I haven't come across two more unbalanced characters in books than this mother and daughter * Prima *
Horribly riveting. At times I wanted to, but I could not put it down * Saga Magazine *
Wrobel's claustrophobic debut explores the sinister subject of parents who deliberately make their children ill . . . Find out who's manipulating who in this clever chiller * Sunday Express *
Deliciously icy. Wrobel's cleverly constructed plot twists and turns, undermining any sense of integrity the minute you catch a glimpse of it * Irish News *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Back to top