We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

Remarkable Engineers


Product Description
Product Details

Table of Contents

Part I. From Peter Paul Riquet to James Watt: Peter Paul Riquet (1604-1680); Sebastien le Prestre de Vauban (1633-1707); James Brindley (1716-1772); John Smeaton (1724-1792); James Watt (1736-1819); Part II. From William Jessop to Marc Brunel: William Jessop (1745-1814); Lazare Carnot (1753-1823); Thomas Telford (1757-1834); John Rennie (1761-1821); Sir Marc Isambard Brunel (1769-1849); Part III. From Richard Trevithick to Sadi Carnot: Richard Trevithick (1771-1833); Sir George Cayley (1773-1857); George Stephenson (1781-1848); Charles Babbage (1792-1871); Charles Vignoles (1793-1875); Sadi Carnot (1796-1832); Part IV. From Joseph Henry to Sir Joseph William Bazalgette: Joseph Henry (1797-1878); John Ericsson (1803-1899); Robert Stephenson (1803-1859); Isambard Kingdom Brunel (1806-1859); John Roebling (1806-1869); Sir Joseph William Bazalgette (1819-1891); Part V. From James Buchanan Eads to Alexander Graham Bell: James Buchanan Eads (1820-1887); William Thomson (Lord Kelvin) (1824-1907); Gustav Eiffel (1832-1923); George Westinghouse (1846-1914); Thomas Alva Edison (1847-1931); Alexander Graham Bell (1847-1922); Part VI. From Ferdinand Braun to Heinrich Hertz: Ferdinand Braun (1850-1918); Hertha Ayrton (1854-1923); Charles Parsons (1854-1931); Granville Woods (1856-1910); Nikola Tesla (1856-1943); Heinrich Hertz (1857-1894); Part VII. From Rudolf Diesel to Guglielmo Marconi: Rudolf Diesel (1858-1913); Elmer Sperry (1860-1930); Wilbur Wright (1867-1912) and Orville Wright (1871-1948); Frederick Lanchester (1868-1946); Guglielmo Marconi (1874-1937); Part VIII. From Peter Pal'chinskii to Vladimir Zworykin: Peter Pal'chinskii (1875-1929); Edith Clarke (1883-1958); Andrei Tupolev (1888-1972); John Logie Baird (1888-1946); Vladimir Zworykin (1889-1982); Part IX. From Dennis Gabor to Claude Shannon: Dennis Gabor (1900-1979); Sergei Pavlovich Korolev (1906-1966); Frank Whittle (1907-1996); William Shockley (1910-1989); Wernher von Braun (1912-1977); Claude Shannon (1916-2001).

Promotional Information

Profiles 51 key engineers of the last 400 years, leading up to the founders of modern electronics and communications.

About the Author

Ioan James is Emeritus Professor of Mathematics at the University of Oxford and has had a distinguished career as a research mathematician. In recent years he has become interested in the history and development of scientific disciplines and the scientists involved. He was elected Fellow of the Royal Society in 1968. He is also the author of Remarkable Mathematicians, Remarkable Physicists, and Remarkable Biologists, all published by Cambridge University Press.


'For anyone foolish enough to suggest that engineering is 'boring', this stands as a convincing repost.' Engineering and Technology

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond Retail Limited.
Back to top