Free Shipping Anywhere in the World

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Revenger
By

Rating
Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

Revenger (John Shakespeare 2) For fans of CJ Sansom and SJ Parris, REVENGER is the fourth in chronological order of Rory Clements' acclaimed and bestselling John Shakespeare series of Tudor spy thrillers. Clements, winner of the Ellis Peters Historical Fiction Award, 'does for Elizabeth's reign what CJ Sansom does for Henry VIII's' Sunday Times

About the Author

Rory Clements is the award-winning author of the John Shakespeare series of Tudor spy thrillers. His six acclaimed novels, Martyr, Revenger, Prince, Traitor, The Heretics and The Queen's Man, follow Elizabeth's Intelligencer, John Shakespeare, brother to the playwright William, through the dark underworld of Tudor England as he unmasks the traitors and conspirators who plot against the Queen. Rory Clements won the Crime Writers' Association Ellis Peters Historical Fiction Award in 2010 for Revenger, and has been shortlisted for CWA Awards for Martyr, Prince and The Heretics. A TV series is currently in development. Find out more at www.roryclements.co.uk

Reviews

A colourful history lesson . . . exciting narrative twists. * Sunday Telegraph * A historical thriller to send a shiver down your spine. * Daily Mail * A historical thriller to send a shiver down your spine. * Daily Mail * Enjoyable, bloody and brutish. * Guardian * Enjoyable, bloody and brutish. * Guardian *

In this sophomore outing for intelligencer John Shakespeare (after Martyr), England's fate once again rests in his hands. Shakespeare is approached by the Earl of Essex, who wishes Shakespeare to find one of the lost colonists of Roanoke, who was mysteriously sighted in London. Then Sir Robert Cecil asks Shakespeare to keep an eye on Essex. Shakespeare soon learns that Essex plans secretly to marry Lady Arbella, an heiress to the throne. Eventually his secret ties to Cecil are discovered by Charlie McGunn, an Irishman with some power over Essex. The missing Roanoke colonist, various murders and disappearances, acts of torture, poems by John's brother William, and numerous lewd acts all play a part in Clements's tale. Readers can almost hear the clamor of London, smell its stench, and feel the muck on their shoes as they follow Shakespeare on the trail of skullduggery and high treason. VERDICT The appetite for anything Tudor is great, and there is a demand for mysteries from this period. This well-told tale will not disappoint.-Eric Norton, McMillan Memorial Lib., Wisconsin Rapids (c) Copyright 2011. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Set in Elizabethan England, Clements's sequel to his debut, Martyr, raises him to the top rank of historical thriller writers. John Shakespeare, the playwright's older brother, has left the intelligence world behind to teach at a small school, but he's drawn back into the treacherous world of spying by two powerful and competing rivals-the earl of Essex and Queen Elizabeth's new spymaster, Sir Robert Cecil. Essex asks Shakespeare to find the truth behind the mysterious disappearance of the colonists of Roanoke, Va. One of them has reportedly been seen walking the streets of London, and Essex wants the intelligencer to confirm or dispel those rumors. Meanwhile, Cecil, who fears that Essex's scheming threatens the monarch, seeks to have Shakespeare work as a double agent. Clements presents an intricate web of plots and subplots while vividly evoking the tenor of the times. Shakespeare makes a fascinating lead, perfectly suited to sustain what one hopes will be a long series. (July) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top