Free Worldwide Shipping

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Riding in the Moment

In this exciting book Mike Schaffer looks at dressage from a different point of view and reduces everything to the five first tier basics: Go, Stop, Turn in, Move out, and Soften. The author explains that we can use these "first tier basics" to develop all of the movements and qualities we seek in our horses. Training with these basics teaches horses the way they learn - from the bottom up. So, you don't have learn this system on an advanced school master - you and your horse can learn it together. The book is divided into 3 main sections. The first, explains the concepts you'll need to use this system. The second gives training strategies and exercises for teaching your horse each of the first tier basics. The last section shows how to use the five basics to "build" the figures and movements seen in dressage, beginning with circles and going through to half-pass, and flying changes. As the author says, "If what you want is not absolutely clear to you, it is absolutely impossible for you to make it clear to the horse." This book provides an approach to training that allows you achieve success each moment of your daily ride.
Product Details

About the Author

MIKE SCHAFFER has worked as a professional horseman for over 40 years and has trained both horses and riders through the FEI levels. He is well known for explaining difficult concepts in straight forward language that riders of all levels can understand and appreciate. He teaches and trains on a daily basis and regularly gives clinics and seminars throughout North America. Mike is located in eastern Pennsylvania. Michael Schaffer is also the author of "Right from the Start - Create a Sane, Soft, Well-Balanced Horse" first published in 2001 by Trafalgar Square Publishers. Visit Mike's web site: to see more about his books, videos, lessons, clinics, and training.

Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top