We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .

×

Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

Risky Business
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

This is the essential Al Alvarez - the only book to contain the full range of his writing and the book all his fans will wantIncludes Alvarez on some of the literary greats of the twentieth century: Jean Rhys, Sylvia Plath, Philip Roth, Alice Munro and Philip Larkin For fans of Frank Kermode, Martin Amis's The War Against Cliche and James Wood's The Irresponsible Self

About the Author

Al Alvarez is a poet, novelist, literary critic, anthologist and author of many highly praised non-fiction books on topics ranging from suicide, divorce and dreams - The Savage God, Life After Marriage, Night - to poker, North Sea oil and mountaineering - The Biggest Game in Town, Offshore, Feeding the Rat. His most recent books are New and Selected Poems and The Writer's Voice. In 2010 Al Alvarez was awarded the Benson Medal by the Royal Society of Literature for 'meritorious works in poetry, fiction, history and belles lettres'. He lives in London.

Reviews

'In a book this good, in the company of a mind this judicious and fine, the reader is left wanting more' Daily Telegraph 'Essays about everything from risk, poker and exploration, to Philip Roth, Edward Lear and Jean Rhys' Scotsman 'Word- and pitch-perfect ... unalloyed Alvarez' The Times 'Marvellous ... clear, unpretentious, insightful' Observer

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
People also searched for
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top