Free Shipping Anywhere in the World

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

The Romanov Prophecy
By

Rating
Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

A superb fast-paced thriller from international bestselling author Steve Berry, published in the UK for the first time following the success of THE TEMPLAR LEGACY and THE THIRD SECRET

About the Author

Steve Berry lives on the coast in Georgia, USA, with his wife and daughter. He is a lawyer who has traveled extensively throughout the Caribbean, Mexico, Europe, and Russia. His first two novels, THE AMBER ROOM and THE ROMANOV PROPHECY, were US bestsellers; his next two, THE THIRD SECRET and THE TEMPLAR LEGACY, were instant New York Times bestsellers. His books have been translated into over 30 languages.

Reviews

Like his debut, The Amber Room, this thriller by Atlanta lawyer Berry is set in Russia. When the Russian people elect to bring back the tsar, Atlanta lawyer Miles Lord goes to Moscow to help vet a candidateAand finds himself getting shot at for his troubles. Copyright 2004 Reed Business Information.

'Readers who enjoy Dan Brown and Daniel Silva will enjoy THE ROMANOV PROPHECY. This is a wild roller-coaster ride, with explosive action and compelling suspense, delving into one of the great mysteries of our time' -- Sharon Kay Penman, author of the classic bestseller THE SUNNE IN SPLENDOUR 'Perfect for thriller fans and history buffs alike. Fabulous plot twists' -- David Morrell, author of THE PROTECTOR 'Exciting action, an engrossing puzzle, and atmospheric settings make this a great read. Highly recommended' -- Library Journal 'Berry pulls a Dan Brown, throwing the reader right into the action' -- Florida Times-Union 'Intriguing...superb...There is mystery, suspense, thrills...A splendid merger of fact and fiction' -- Dayton Daily News

With this second Russian suspense novel, which focuses on the restoration of the Romanov dynasty, Berry shows he's honed his craft since his somewhat shaky debut, The Amber Room (2003). Miles Lord, a workaholic African-American lawyer from Atlanta, is in Moscow to help Stefan Baklanov, the Romanov claimant his high-powered firm is backing. Since the new tsar will reign as an autocrat like his ancestors, both big rubles and big bucks are at stake not to mention access to nuclear weapons. Lord soon discerns that Baklanov is corrupt, a tool of the mafiya. While digging through old files on the Russian Revolution, Lord comes to believe Baklanov is the "raven" Rasputin predicted would help save the royal house in 1916. Teaming with a beautiful acrobat, Akilina Petrov of the Moscow Circus, Lord attempts to discover whether any children of Nicholas II escaped Lenin's executioners. A series of exotic clues propel the pair on an international scavenger hunt. Berry uses Russia past and present to excellent effect and makes sharp observations about the contemporary Russian scene, such as the racism Lord encounters throughout the country. The book's villain needs a bit more development, but this doesn't detract much from a solid tale a cut above and then some many thrillers on the market. Agent, Pam Ahearn. Author tour. (Sept.) Copyright 2004 Reed Business Information.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top