Free Shipping Anywhere in the World

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

The School for Good and Evil
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Soman Chainani's first five novels in the School for Good and Evil series each debuted on the New York Times bestseller list. The series has sold over 2 million copies, has been translated into 28 languages across six continents, and will soon be a major motion picture. A graduate of Harvard University and Columbia University's MFA Film Program, Soman has made films that have played all over the world, and his writing awards include honors from Big Bear Lake, the CAPE Foundation, and the Sun Valley Writers' Fellowship. When he's not telling stories, Soman is a die-hard tennis player who never lost a first-round match for ten years . . . until he started writing The School for Good and Evil. Now he loses all the time. You can visit Soman at www.somanchainani.net. Iacopo Bruno is a graphic designer and illustrator. He is also the illustrator of the acclaimed books Mesmerized: How Ben Franklin Solved a Mystery that Baffled All of France and Anything But Ordinary Addie, both by Mara Rockliff. He lives and works in Milan, Italy, with his wife, Francesca. Learn more about Iacopo at www.theworldofdot.com and www.iacopobruno.blogspot.it.

Reviews

Invention in overdrive...The School for Good and Evil is a comedic education by a writer primed to shoot to the head of the class.--Gregory Maguire, author of Wicked and Matchless
"Rich and strange."--Kirkus Reviews
"A fairy tale like no other, complete with romance, magic, humor, and a riddle that will keep you turning pages until the end."--Ann M. Martin, author of the bestselling Babysitter's Club series
"Chainani has imagined the world where fairy tales come to life, where for every fairy princess with a 'Happily Ever After' in her future there is a villain with a tragic fate in store. But in The School for Good and Evil it's not always certain which is which."--David Magee, screenwriter of Life of Pi and Finding Neverland
"In Chainani's richly imagined world the action never lets up for a nano-second. Young readers won't be able to stop turning the pages till they reach the surprising and satisfying conclusion."--Tor Seidler, author of Mean Margaret, a National Book Award Finalist
"Chainani takes the racing energy of Roald Dahl's language and combines it with the existential intensity of J.K. Rowling's plots to create his own universe. THE SCHOOL FOR GOOD AND EVIL uses the sorcery of words and the poetry of friendship to startle, enchant, and keep us turning pages."--Maria Tatar, Chair of Folklore and Mythology Program, Harvard University and Editor of The Classic Fairy Tales
"Wow. From the very first sentence, you know you're entering a thrilling world of strange fantasy... A wild and dangerous fairy tale ride. I loved this book."--R. L. Stine, author of the bestselling Goosebumps series
"[A] whip-smart debut...If I could bewitch you all to read it, I would. Grade: A."--Entertainment Weekly

Gr 5-8-Every four years in the village of Gavaldon, two children are stolen away by a mysterious person known only as the Schoolmaster. These children become students at the School for Good and Evil. One will be taught the ways of goodness, honor, and beauty; the other will be instructed in the ways of darkness and villainy. Twelve-year-old Sophie just knows she's destined to be picked for the school of Good this year, and can't wait to assume the role of a princess and meet her Prince Charming. Her best friend, Agatha, is surely villain material with her dumpy looks, black clothes, and dour demeanor. So how is it that Sophie winds up in the School for Evil and Agatha the School for Good? Now both girls must work to succeed in their new roles or face dire consequences. The girls' friendship will be put to the test in ways they never imagined. This debut fantasy will attract sophisticated readers with a love of fairy tales, particularly the dark side of them. Despite some redundant scenes and pacing issues, there's plenty of action and emotion to keep an audience well entertained. Fans of Adam Gidwitz's A Tale Dark and Grimm (Dutton, 2010) and Shannon and Dean Hale's graphic novel Rapunzel's Revenge (Bloomsbury, 2008) will be swept along in this wild story of good, evil, and two friends caught in between.-Stephanie Whelan, New York Public Library (c) Copyright 2013. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top