We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .

×

COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

Sergeant Billy
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

A delightful tale inspired by the true story of a brave goat war hero. Perfect for fans of Finding Winnie and Rescue and Jessica.

About the Author

MIREILLE MESSIER is a Montreal-born, Ottawa-raised and now Toronto-based author, freelance writer and voice-over artist. She has published over twenty children's books--including The Branch, which was nominated for a Governor General's Award--several articles for youth magazines and has collaborated in the production of many family programs and interactive apps for CBC, TVO/TFO and Teletoon. Mireille enjoys reading graphic novels, swing music and, of course, goats. KASS REICH was born in Montreal, Quebec. She works as an artist and educator and has spent the majority of the last decade traveling and living abroad. She now finds herself back in Canada, but this time in Toronto. Kass loves illustrating books for all ages, including Megabat, Carson Crosses Canada, Hamsters Holding Hands and Dr. Coo and the Pigeon Protest. This is her first book about a goat.

Reviews

"Messier's smooth, well-paced text and Reich's muted gouache illustrations. . . . [i]maginatively conveys the drudgery-if not the sheer terror-of war to a young audience." --Kirkus Reviews

"Messier takes young readers beyond the mud and blood of World War I with her rollicking humanizing tale of a goat and the soldiers who cared for it. Illustrator Kass Reich expertly captures the tone of Messier's words with her delightful illustrations. . . . Highly recommended." --CM Magazine

""Humanizes the realities of war." --CityParent

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top