Free Shipping Anywhere in the World

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

'Shh, new vicar might be listening . . .'As the newly appointed Vicar of Helmsley, David was looking forward to working in this picturesque market town, set in the beautiful Yorkshire countryside. Admittedly the vicarage, which dated back to the twelfth century, was extremely cold and damp. And not all of his parishioners were impressed by his new-fangled ways. But with the help of the irrepressible Father Bert, a retired cleric and one-time Tail End Charlie, David set about winning over the townsfolk.There was Lord Feversham, the local landowner who at times bore an unnerving resemblance to Henry VIII; fiery Ted, a retired chef who had fought with the Polish Free Army; Frank the singing shepherd, still working as he approached eighty, and redoubtable countrywoman Eva. All had stories of hardship and sacrifice, friendship and love. Charming and moving, Shepherd of Another Flock is a must-read for fans of authors like Gervase Phinn, James Herriot and Amanda Owen.
Product Details

Promotional Information

The enchanting story of a Yorkshire rural community seen through the eyes of its young vicar.

About the Author

David Wilbourne has spent the majority of his ministry in Yorkshire, and was Vicar of Helmsley for twelve years. In 2009 he was consecrated Assistant Bishop of Llandaff, working with the Archbishop of Wales. He is also a writer and broadcaster.

Reviews

The gloriously beguiling saga of a new Reverend overcoming the suspicions of locals in a small Yorkshire town * Daily Mail * A glorious book * Times Literary Supplement * Written with all the warmth and gentle humour that we've come to expect from the like of James Herriot and Gervase Phinn * The Press *

Look for similar items by category
People also searched for
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top