We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .

×

COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

Skin
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Reviews

Derivative of such puzzle dramas as Lost, The Usual Suspects, Fight Club and The Matrix, this thriller by Dekker (Thr3e; Blink) reads more like a screenplay than a novel. Its third-person omniscient narrator includes mostly dialogue, blocking and description of scenery and little else. Early in the novel, five young adults are sucked into a serial killer's evil game. While experienced Dekker readers will see some of what is coming, a number of plot points are entirely unpredictable, due in large part to the constant barrage of red herrings the reader must endure before discovering the novel's final revelations. Unfortunately, the dialogue-dominated prose is hackneyed and juvenile; a reason is given for the childishness of some of the language, but this does not fully excuse the many cliched passages of the book. These problems, however, are secondary to the novel's central flaw, which is that the ambitiously twisty plot does not make sense. The characters' backstories are implausible, and their actions and experiences in the present never quite add up. The novel is clearly intended to be a challenging exploration of the nature of beauty, morality and truth, but despite having put lots of words about these concepts in his confused characters' mouths, Dekker offers no new insights. (Apr. 3) Copyright 2007 Reed Business Information.

This latest release by the reigning king of CF suspense novels (see also Saint, Three, and the "Circle" trilogy) will not disappoint Dekker's many fans as it features his trademark plot surprises, fast pacing, and thrilling story line. This time around, a seemingly unstoppable serial killer seeks revenge by demanding that the five people he has captured kill the ugliest person among them. There is plenty of violence, but it is not graphic, so it is not likely to offend more sensitive readers. This electrifying treat may have crossover appeal for readers of Frank Peretti, Dean Koontz, Michael Crichton, and other authors of taut suspense fiction. Recommended for CF and suspense collections. Dekker resides in Colorado. Copyright 2007 Reed Business Information.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top