We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .

×

COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

A Song for Issy Bradley
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Carys Bray completed an M.A. in creative writing at Edge Hill University in 2010. That same year she won the M.A. category of the EdgeHill Prize for the Short Story, and her stories have since been published in a variety of literary magazines. She was awarded the Scott Prize for her debut collection, "Sweet Home, " and is now working on a Ph.D. She lives in Southport, England, with her husband and four children. This is her first novel."

Reviews

I loved "A Song for Issy Bradley." It s wry, smart . . . moving and comforting. . . . A terrific book [about] faith, and what happens to that faith when the unimaginable happens. Nick Hornby, "The Believer" "The Book of Mormon "with an English accent. "New York Post" "" [Carys] Bray fully inhabits each of her characters, displaying an admirable range of narrative talent rare in a first novel. Fans of "The Lonely Polygamist" and "Where d You Go, Bernadette" will savor this thrilling glimpse behind the scenes of a family in crisis. "Booklist "(starred review) With wit and compassion, plus insider knowledge of the Mormon way of life, Bray exposes the raw emotions of a family in crisis. An intriguing and heartbreaking story from an author to watch. "Library Journal" "" An absorbing, beautifully written debut novel with surprising moments of humor. "Kirkus Reviews" In this wry, original, generous-spirited debut novel, members of a family come to terms with grief, each in his or her own way. They wrestle with belief and disillusionment, desire and hopelessness, pervasive sorrow and moments of transcendent joy. The result is riveting, powerful, and quietly devastating. Quite simply, "A Song for Issy Bradley" took my breath away. Christina Baker Kline, #1 "New York Times" bestselling author of "Orphan Train" "A Song for Issy Bradley" is that rarest of things a book that is beautiful, tender, and a page-turner. Carys Bray made me fall hopelessly in love with each and every one of the Bradleys. Carol Rifka Brunt, "New York Times" bestselling author of "Tell the Wolves I m Home" I cannot remember the last time I have felt so emotionally invested in a novel. It is brilliant and profoundly moving, utterly compelling and almost unbearably real. Nathan Filer, author of "The Shock of the Fall" Carys Bray is a strikingly original new voice in fiction. I loved this tender, moving, funny, and deeply truthful story about a family and a faith tested to the breaking point. Helen Dunmore, author of "The Lie" and "The Siege" I loved "A Song for Issy Bradley." With courage, warmth, and intelligence, Carys Bray sweetly and subtly breaks your heart. It s an incredible debut. Charlotte Mendelson, author of" Almost English "and "When We Were Bad""

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top