Free Shipping Anywhere in the World

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Starman
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

Epic fantasy in the tradition of Trudi Canavan, Fiona McIntosh and Robert Jordan. StarMan concludes the first Tencendor trilogy with an unexpected and glorious climax. / Smart new look to launch alongside the publication of the new Douglass fantasy trilogy that begins with: The Serpent Bride / Competition: Robert Jordan, Trudi Canavan, Terry Goodkind

About the Author

Sara Douglass was born in Penola, South Australia, and spent her early working life as a nurse. Rapidly growing tired of starched veils, mitred corners and irascible anaesthetists, she worked her way through three degrees at the University of Adelaide, culminating in a PhD in early modern English history. Sara Douglass currently teaches medieval history of La Trobe University, Bendigo and escapes academia through her writing.

Reviews

Assuming his role as the Starman of the Prophecy of the Destroyer, the warrior-wizard Axis makes his way to his final confrontation with his corrupt half-brother, Gorgrael. Meanwhile, Azhure, Axis's wife, discovers her own powers as an Enchantress and learns the twin strengths of love and friendship. Douglass (Enchanter, Battleaxe) brings to the fore her world-building abilities and storytelling expertise in this satisfying conclusion to a fantasy epic set in a world of winged sorcerers and ancient races. A few loose ends pave the way for future novels featuring a new generation of heroes and villains. Recommended for most fantasy collections. Copyright 2002 Cahners Business Information.

Praise for previous books in The Axis Trilogy: 'The twists, revelations and foreshadowings keep you turning pages' SFX 'Absorbing. Those who like their battles bloody and realistic will get their desire, but here also are moments of great tenderness' Starburst

More about femmes fatales then fatal battles, this final imaginative novel in the Axis Trilogy (The Wayfarer Redemption; Enchanter) should satisfy a fantasy readership hungry for strong female characters despite their restricting romantic relationships with magical men. Axis SunSoar must fulfill the ambiguous prophecy of WolfStar, the Icarii patriarch, by fighting WolfStar's evil half-brother, Gorgrael, and by sacrificing Gorgrael's lover. It's unclear whether the lover is Azhure, WolfStar's daughter and Axis's wife, or Faraday, Axis's former fiance and the replanter of the great forests. Whoever the Prophecy of the Destroyer names is likely to die at Gorgrael's hands. Azhure has the added burden of being pregnant with sorcerous twins, who harbor an intense, deadly dislike for the rest of their family. While the plot features several mystical pregnancies, the most destructive are those of the devouring Gryphons that Gorgrael has created; they're born pregnant with nine pups and multiply fast enough to lay waste to the world. Faraday has her own problems: the need to fight a god, her own exhausted condition and other women who believe Axis wronged her by marrying Azhure. Gods, women, sorcerers and babies all figure in the battles that neatly conclude this trilogy while leaving enough open questions to seed other stories. Douglass may manipulate her characters such as via the strange rebirth of the sainted Faraday in ways that have more to do with romance convention than logic, but this won't deter the faithful. (May 27) Copyright 2002 Cahners Business Information.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top