Free Shipping Anywhere in the World

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Summer Knight
By

Rating
Product Details

About the Author

A martial arts enthusiast whose r sum includes a long list of skills rendered obsolete at least two hundred years ago, #1 New York Times bestselling author Jim Butcher turned to writing as a career because anything else probably would have driven him insane. He lives mostly inside his own head so that he can write down the conversation of his imaginary friends, but his head can generally be found in Independence, Missouri. Jim is the author of the Dresden Files, the Codex Alera novels, and the Cinder Spires series, which began with The Aeronaut's Windlass.

Reviews

Harry Dresden is the only wizard listed in the Chicago phone book. He doesn't do parties or love potions, but he is a detective, and he knows when supernatural trouble is brewing. The night it rained toads was certainly a sign. In Butcher's fourth title in "The Dresden Files," Harry, always under suspicion by the White Council of Wizards, is now in deeper trouble as they blame him for the approaching war with the vampire court. In addition, a major shift in the precarious balance between the summer and winter courts of the Sidhe could send the earth into another Ice Age. Harry will need reinforcements, as evil portents quickly take on shapes a lot deadlier than toads. Magically performed by James Marsters, this is a sure hit for those of us who like a dash of sarcasm, irony, and magic brewed up in our mysteries along with a new wizard for those aging Harry Potter fans. With the paperback originals receiving solid reviews, this is highly recommended for all public libraries.-Theresa Connors, Arkansas Tech Univ., Russellville Copyright 2007 Reed Business Information.

Praise for the Dresden Files "Think Buffy the Vampire Slayer starring Philip Marlowe."--Entertainment Weekly "Fans of Laurell K. Hamilton and Tanya Huff will love this series."--Midwest Book Review "Superlative."--Publishers Weekly (starred review) "One of the most enjoyable marriages of the fantasy and mystery genres on the shelves."--Cinescape "Butcher...spins an excellent noirish detective yarn in a well-crafted, supernaturally-charged setting. The supporting cast is again fantastic, and Harry's wit continues to fly in the face of a peril-fraught plot."--Booklist (starred review) "What's not to like about this series?...It takes the best elements of urban fantasy, mixes it with some good old-fashioned noir mystery, tosses in a dash of romance and a lot of high-octane action, shakes, stirs, and serves."--SF Site "A tricky plot complete with against-the-clock pacing, firefights, explosions, and plenty of magic. Longtime series fans as well as newcomers drawn by the SciFi Channel's TV series based on the novels should find this supernatural mystery a real winner."--Library Journal "What would you get if you crossed Spenser with Merlin? Probably you would come up with someone very like Harry Dresden, wizard, tough guy and star of [the Dresden Files]."--The Washington Times

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top