We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .

×

COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

Sure Fire
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Jack Higgins lives on Jersey in the Channel Islands.
Justin Richards lives in England.

Reviews

The internationally bestselling author of The Eagle Has Landed partners with Richards (the Invisible Detective series) to write this standout YA spy novel. Following the unexpected death of their mother, teenage twins Jade and Rich Chance are shipped off to London to live with John Chance, the father they never knew of. Right from the beginning it's clear he has secrets, and when the twins witness his kidnapping by men with guns, they are propelled into a world where no one can be trusted and everyone shoots to kill. The mystery thickens as they discover their father works for the British government and was investigating a powerful businessman, Viktor Vishinsky from Krejikistan, who plans to introduce a virus that would cripple the world's oil supply. As with many mystery thrillers, plausibility isn't on the agenda. The authors need neither gimmicks nor high-tech machinery, instead tailoring their vocabulary and style to keep the action at breakneck speed. Each chapter ends with a cliff-hanger, maintaining the high level of suspense. With readers looking for an Alex Rider-type adventure, this will be a sure-fire hit. Ages 12-up. (Oct.) Copyright 2007 Reed Business Information.

Gr 8 Up-Rich and Jade Chance, 15, find their world turned upside down when their mother dies in an accident. They believe that they are orphans until they meet a man at the funeral who claims to be their father. Suddenly, and unhappily for them, they move to London with him. Then he disappears, and they soon discover that he leads the exciting life of a British secret agent. He has been assigned to infiltrate a Russian oil company that suspects that he has the only remaining sample of a valuable fuel that they developed. The twins are thrust into a world of oil barons, secret meetings in fancy hotels, violence, and tension-filled rescues. Fans of Alex Rider and Tom Clancy books will revel in the oil-refinery explosions and secret writing on ice cubes. The spy lingo and the equipment detail will hold teens' interest, and the nonstop excitement will give reluctant readers something to cheer about.-Lynn Evarts, Sauk Prairie High School, Prairie du Sac, WI Copyright 2008 Reed Business Information.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top