We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .

×

COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

Tamed
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

Ten species that changed our world...

For readers of Yuval Noah Harari's Sapiens, Alice Roberts's groundbreaking new book, Tamed, reveals how taming our most important animals and plants changed these species - and us - forever.

About the Author

Alice Roberts is an anthropologist, writer and broadcaster, and is currently Professor of Public Engagement in Science at the University of Birmingham. She has presented several landmark BBC series including The Incredible Human Journey, Origins of Us, Coast and The Celts. Her latest book on evolutionary biology, The Incredible Unlikeliness of Being, was shortlisted for the Wellcome Trust Book Prize in 2015.

www.alice-roberts.co.uk

Reviews

A masterpiece of evocative scientific storytelling. -- BRIAN COX
Epic and joyous, a landmark in the story of us. -- Adam Rutherford
Two recent pioneers of the history of humanity are Jared Diamond, author of Guns, Germs and Steel, and Yuval Noah Harari, in his book Sapiens. It is a teeming subject, about which Roberts is multiply qualified to write, as an anatomist, archaeologist, anthropologist, paleopathologist and professor of public engagement in science. Roberts remains composed, engaging and undogmatic throughout... Tamed is an excellent point of entry for anyone who wants to understand the new deep human history and what it portends. -- Peter Forbes * Guardian *
[A] lively work of popular scientific history, in which [Roberts] looks at 10 species that have become part of our everyday existence ... illuminating facts, Roberts is an informed guide to the oddities that have made the world what it is today. * Observer *
Tamed may be the title of Alice Roberts' latest book, but the writing is anything but tame. Lyrical storytelling untangles the current thinking on how we've entwined our lives with those of plants and animals. From dogs to apples to potatoes to chickens, Roberts provides fascinating insights into domestication, offering anecdotes from past and present that link genetic and archaeological findings. -- Liz Kalaugher * 'Book of the Month', BBC Wildlife Magazine *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Books » Science » Biology » General
Home » Books » Science » Biology » Zoology » General
Back to top