Free Shipping Anywhere in the World

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

The Taster
By

Rating
Product Details

About the Author

V.S. Alexander is an ardent student of history with a strong interest in music and the visual arts. Some of V.S.'s writing influences include Shirley Jackson, Oscar Wilde, Daphne du Maurier, or any work by the exquisite Bront sisters. V.S. lives in Florida and is at work on a third historical novel for Kensington.

Reviews

"An absorbing, well-researched story that brings to life an extraordinary period in history, told from within the inner circle of one of the twentieth-century's most notorious characters." --Gill Paul, USA Today bestselling author of The Secret Wife "Alexander tells the thrilling stories of Magda's rise through the upper echelon of Nazi loyalists, the intrigue and rumors swirling around the German war effort, and the downfall of the party, in 1945. He does not glorify Hitler and the horrors of the Nazis but marries history and fiction in an attempt to humanize the citizens swept up in the turbulence of the times. This haunting and engrossing novel will appeal to fans of Anthony Doerr and Kristin Hannah." --Booklist "Alexander's intimate writing style gives readers openings to wonder about what tough decisions they would have made in Magda's situation. The 'taster's' story adds to a body of nuanced World War II fiction such as Elizabeth Wein's Code Name Verity, Anthony Doerr's All the Light We Cannot See, and Tatiana de Rosnay's Sarah's Key. Book clubs and historical fiction fans will love discussing this and will eagerly await more from Alexander." --Library Journal "Alexander sweeps readers into a different WWII novel, exploring the inner circle at Hitler's mountain retreat through the eyes of a German girl. This well-researched novel allows readers an intimate glimpse into Hitler's mental state, Eva Braun's place in his life, and his war strategies. Alexander deliberately changes what could be a tense portrait of the era into a calm picture of the bucolic lifestyle of the retreat. Yet, readers still feel the tension between the Nazis, the ordinary German people, and the resistance, as one woman is caught in a mora dilemma with only her courage to keep her alive. Certainly, this book is an interesting reimagining of a key moment in history." --RT Book Reviews, 4 Stars "A totally gripping and credible imagining of how a young German woman was affected by the building chaos and cruelty during the late stages of Hitler's rule. It gains its power through the very special perspective of its main character, who is also the narrator...Through her, Mr. Alexander creates an impressive and engaging novel that humanizes historical events and provides the rich texture of a life meeting momentous challenges in momentous times. The Taster has a few similarities with his earlier The Magdalen Girls. Both involve a community of women living in severely confined situations. Both offer an unusually complex, nuanced rendering of a young woman's personality (unusual, that is, for a male writer). And both demonstrate a great talent for blending recovered fact with vivid imagination." --Florida Weekly

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top