We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

A Web of Air (Fever Crumb)


Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Philip Reeve is the bestselling author of the Predator Cities quartet and the award-winning Fever Crumb series. His other books include the highly acclaimed HERE LIES ARTHUR and NO SUCH THING AS DRAGONS. He lives in Dartmoor, England with his wife and son. Visit him online at philip-reeve.com.


[pull for catalog]

Praise for Fever Crumb "From the rubble of a broken world, mixing ancient tech with old-fashioned derring-do, comes another splendid adventure from Philip Reeve."-Scott Westerfeld, author of Leviathan and Behemoth [star] "Reeve's captivating flights of imagination play as vital a role in the story as his endearing heroine, hissworthy villains, and nifty array of supporting characters." - Booklist, starred review [star] "Beautifully written, grippingly paced, and filled with eccentric characters and bizarre inventions...this is a novel guaranteed to please Reeve's fans-and very likely broaden their ranks." - Publishers Weekly, starred review

Gr 6-9-Since leaving war-torn London with two young orphans, 16-year-old Fever Crumb has traveled on the Lyceum, a floating stage with a troupe of actors, where she has used her technological skills to create special effects on the theater barge. While stopped in an outpost called Mayda, Fever comes across Arlo Thursday, a handsome young man who is trying to unlock the ancient secret of flight. It is a dangerous venture that leads to murder and mystery as well as an irrational love interest and Fever's rethinking her own beliefs. Philip Reeve's tale (2011) is well-crafted, and its rich language evokes the familiar but strange world in which Fever lives. The compelling, taut saga is heightened by Jennifer Agutter's dramatic narration. Distinct characters and characterizations are effectively achieved through voice changes and varied pace. Although Fever's story started in Fever Crumb (2010, both Scholastic), this title can stand alone. Listeners familiar with Reeves's "Mortal Engine" series (Scholastic) will particularly appreciate the backstory.-Maria Salvadore, formerly Washington DC Public Library (c) Copyright 2012. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top