Free Worldwide Shipping

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

The Wedding Gift
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

Set in the Deep South pre Gone with the Wind and the Civil War, The Wedding Gift is a compelling and powerful story of slavery, abuse and passion. Perfect for fans of The Help.

Promotional Information

Set in the Deep South pre Gone with the Wind and the Civil War, The Wedding Gift is a compelling and powerful story of slavery, abuse and passion. Perfect for fans of The Help.

About the Author

Marlen Bodden is a lawyer in New York City. She has more than two decades' experience representing poor people and low-wage and immigrant workers, many of whom are severely underpaid, if paid at all. She drew on her knowledge of modern and historical slavery, human trafficking, and human rights abuses to write The Wedding Gift, her first novel. Marlen is a graduate of New York University School of Law and Tufts University. Visit her website at- www.marlenbodden.com for the history behind The Wedding Gift in photographs, illustrations, maps, and a bibliography.

Reviews

"Bodden's absorbing page-turner maintains its suspense right up to the final pages, when there's one last surprise for those hoping for a happy ending." * Sunday Express *
"A powerful and engaging tale of slavery, passion and the quest for freedom." * www.candis.co.uk *
"Stunning debut...Bodden weaves a page-turning tangled web of misogyny, greed, scandal and violence in this powerful story about races colliding against the backdrop of America's darkest era." * Publisher's Weekly starred review *
"As educational as it is compelling...Bodden writes with delicacy...An inspiring read for historical fiction fans, especially those who like strong female narrators." * Booklist *
"Sure to become 2013's sleeper hit..." * Ebony Magazine *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top