We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .

×

COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

A Winter's Tale
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

A charming romantic comedy about a hard-up single mum inheriting a stately home - and a host of headaches - The perfect novel for curling up with during the long winter nights. Sophy Winter is not your typical Lady of the Manor!. When she unexpectedly inherits Winter's End - a crumbling mansion in the beautiful Lancashire countryside - it seems like all Sophy's prayers have been answered. She eagerly swaps life as an impoverished housekeeper in favour of her own team of staff. But Sophy quickly realises the challenge on her hands - the house is decrepit and its eccentric inhabitants are a nightmare. And once it is discovered that Winter's End played host to a young Shakespeare, the entire village of Sticklepond becomes curious about Sophy's plans, especially charming Jack Lewis. But is he really smitten by Sophy!or her newly-acquired cash? Meanwhile, Sophy's gorgeous head gardener Seth is the strong and silent type. But does his passion bloom for anything beyond the horticultural? As Sophy gets to grips with squabbling relatives, collapsing buildings and the ghostly presence of one of her ancestors, she wonders if Winter's End is not so much a gift from the gods as a mixed blessing... A charming romantic comedy for fans of Katie Fforde and Jill Mansell - guaranteed to thaw the coldest of hearts! / Gorgeous packaging makes it the ideal Christmas gift - or treat for yourself! / Will delight fans of Katie Fforde and Jill Mansell. / Featured title in AVON's Closer book club - over 550k readers / On-pack competition to win a weekend at a country house spa. All bookshop, independent and library sales to Gardners Books and Betrams. www.gardners.com www.bertrams.com www.avon-books.co.uk avon@harpercollins.co.uk / Competition: Katie Fforde, Jill Mansell, Harriet Evans, Judy Astley.

About the Author

Trisha Ashley was born in St. Helens, Lancashire, and gave up her fascinating but time-consuming hobbies of house-moving and divorce a few years ago in order to settle in North Wales. Trisha is currently working on her next novel, Wedding Tiers, to be published by AVON in 2009.

Reviews

Praise for Sowing Secrets and A Winter's Tale: 'Trisha Ashley writes with remarkable wit and originality - one of the best writers around!' Katie Fforde 'Full of comedy and wit.' Closer 'Trisha Ashley! makes for enjoyable reading.' The Times 'Fresh and funny.' Woman's Own 'Searching out something indulgent for curling up with as the nights draw in? Look no further ... with this Cinderella tale of love complete with handsome (natch) hero. Publishing News BOOKLIST, MARCH 2007 Sadly, it's a great relief when Lizzie's increasingly violent husband is found dead on the outskirts of Middlemoss. Perhaps now her life can settle down a bit, and she can while away her days in the English countryside, tending to her garden, writing her books of kitchen wisdom, and testing new recipes. But there is no serenity to be found as her late husband's mistresses crawl out of the woodwork, she pulls together the annual mystery play, and she finds herself in a love triangle with tasty actor Rob, a longtime friend, and equally delicious Nick. There is something about the bucolic madness of the English village that never ceases to amuse, and Ashley uses the gentility of days gone by as a well-polished veneer concealing secrets and scandals so juicy Hollywood would blush. All of which is well distilled here with a dash of mystery and a subtle and well-played romance. If you like your love cozies with a little kick, Sweet Nothings is a real treat.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top