Free Worldwide Shipping

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

The Wolf Gift
By

Rating
Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

Man, monster - or werewolf? A mesmerising new novel from the undisputed Queen of paranormal fiction.

About the Author

Anne Rice is the author of more than thirty internationally bestselling books including The Mayfair Witches sequence, The Songs of the Seraphim and, most recently, The Wolf Gift Chronicles . The phenomenon that became The Vampire Chronicles started with Interview with a Vampire in 1976, later made into a film starring Tom Cruise and Brad Pitt, and culminated with Blood Canticle in 2003. Prince Lestat is the first new Vampire Chronicle novel for over a decade. Anne Rice lives in California.

Reviews

Reporter Reuben Golding is assigned to interview Marchent Nideck about selling her uncle's remotely located mansion, which overlooks the ocean and is set against a backdrop of gigantic redwood trees. Reuben promptly falls in love with the house-and is equally attracted to his hostess. During the night, Marchent and Reuben are attacked, but a furry beast bursts into the room and quickly dispatches the two assailants. In the scuffle, Reuben receives a wound that leaves him with "the wolf gift." The story unfolds with the changes Reuben experiences as he quickly heals. Founded in werewolf lore and history, Rice's latest work brings new elements to what it means to be one of these creatures. Ron McLarty's magnificent narration draws the listener into the story, and the details of the tale are mesmerizing from the beginning. VERDICT Werewolf fans and anyone who enjoys Rice's books, especially her vampire saga, will be drawn thoroughly into this one and find themselves hoping for a sequel. [The Knopf hc, published in February, was a New York Times best seller; see LJ Xpress Reviews, 1/27/12.-Ed.]-Gloria Maxwell, Metropolitan Community Coll.-Penn Valley Lib., Kansas City, MO (c) Copyright 2012. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

"What makes this novel special is the changes the author rings on the werewolf theme... This allows Rice to spin both a convincing thriller and an inquisition on the nature of good and evil - a recurring theme in her work. Superb." * Guardian * "The Wolf Gift is vintage Anne Rice - a lushly written, gothic... metaphysical tale." * Wall Street Journal * "I want to howl at the moon over this... I devoured these pages... [A] terrific new novel. . . The plot [is] magnetic, the characters fascinating." * The Boston Globe * "A thrilling, page-turning yarn." * Booklist * "[Rice] returns to the lushly evocative scenery and gothic atmosphere of her vampire novels with great success. . . her reimagining of a well-worn mythology is fresh and intriguing. Fans of Rice's 'The Vampire Chronicles' and 'The Lives of the Mayfair Witches' series should delight in this new saga delivered in the author's distinctive style. Part creation story, part love story, all excellent!" * Library Journal *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top