We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

1 Greatest Hits


Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Dan Warner, Davey Johnstone , Dean Parks, Miguel Varela, Rayito, Michael Thompson , Michael Landau, Rene Toledo (guitar); Tim Devine , Julin Navarro (strings, piano, keyboards, synthesizer); Stevie Wonder, Tommy Morgan (harmonica); Enrique Martinez (accordion); Ed Calle, Tom Scott, Tony Concepcion, Dana Teboe (brass); Alberto Estebanez (piano, keyboards, synthesizer, programming); Dan Kuramoto, David Paich, Jon Gilutin, Lester Mendez, Kim Cornwell, Michael Orta, Michel Colombier, Rafael Ferro, Robbie Buchanan, Steve Porcaro, Tom Keane, Randy Kerber, David Foster (piano, keyboards, synthesizer); John "J.R." Robinson , Jeff Porcaro, Lee Levin , Tris Imboden, Carlos Vega (drums); Michael Fisher, Daniel Lopez (percussion); Julian Navarro, Reynerio Perez, Rhett Lawrence (programming).
  • Audio Mixers: Laura Livingston; Alberto Snchez; Eric Schilling ; Humberto Gatica; Karen Siegel; Darren Klein; Carlos Alvarez ; Mick Guzauski; Julio Iglesias; Carlos Nieto.
  • Recording information: A&M Recording Studios, Los Angeles, CA; Air Studios, London, UK; CBS Studios, London, UK; Compass Point Studios, Nassau, Bahamas; Criteria Recording Studio, Miami, FL; Estudio Corales, Punta Cana, DR; Estudio Cuatro Lunas, Marbella, Spain; Hit Factory, Miami, FL; Lighthouse, USA; LionShare Studios, Los Angeles, CA; Ocean Way, Los Angeles, CA; Rhett's Place, USA; Schnee Studio, North Hollywood, CA; Sunset Sound, Los Angeles, CA.
  • Arrangers: Alberto Estebanez; Julin Navarro; Manuel Alejandro; Rafael Ferro; Ramn Arcusa; Robbie Buchanan; Roberto Livi; Jorge Calandrelli; Julio Iglesias.
  • Having recently declared that he's in far better voice than he was in his '70s/'80s heyday, romantic crooner Julio Iglesias gets to put his money where his mouth is on this alternative greatest-hits collection, Vol. 1. His first studio release since 2007's Quelque Chose de France sees Spain's most successful musical export revisit 15 of his most cherished songs from his enduring 40-year career, with tracks spanning from 1973's Un Canto a Galicia (the title track) right up to 2006's Romantic Classics (a Spanish-language version of Elvis' "Always on My Mind"). But other than the inevitable maturity in Iglesias' voice and a slightly glossier production, there's little variation between the originals and the new recordings, which, with the exception of the breezy Gallic lounge-pop of "As Vezes Tu, As Vezes Eu," stick to his trademark orchestral and flamenco-tinged chansons. While renditions of Leo Sayer's "When I Need You," Elvis' "I Can't Help Falling in Love" ("So Voce Vai, Me Fazer Feliz"), and Stevie Wonder duet "My Love" will be familiar even to those who now associate the Iglesias name more with his son Enrique, the rest of the track list is more notable for its omissions than its inclusions, with U.K. number one "Begin the Beguine," his U.S. hit collaborations with Diana Ross and Willie Nelson, and his breakthrough Eurovision entry, "Gwendolyne," all conspicuous by their absence. Presumably, these signature hits will appear on later volumes, a risky strategy that appears to have paid off judging by its chart-topping success in his homeland, but this competent yet unremarkable set of "reworkings" doesn't exactly whet the appetite for any future releases. ~ Jon O'Brien
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » World Music » Latin
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Vocal » General
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top