Free Shipping Anywhere in the World

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

4-Track Demos

Album: 4-Track Demos
# Song Title   Time
1)    Rid Of Me 4-Track Demo Version More Info... 3:43
2)    Legs 4-Track Demo Version More Info... 3:50
3)    Reeling 4-Track Demo Version More Info... 2:59
4)    Snake 4-Track Demo Version More Info... 1:58
5)    Hook 4-Track Demo Version More Info... 4:32
6)    50 Ft Queenie 4-Track Demo Version More Info... 2:49
7)    Driving 4-Track Demo Version More Info... 2:39
8)    Ecstasy 4-Track Demo Version More Info... 2:58
9)    Hardly Wait 4-Track Demo Version More Info... 2:48
10)    Rub 'Till It Bleeds 4-Track Demo Version More Info... 5:12
11)    Easy 4-Track Demo Version More Info... 3:17
12)    M-Bike 4-Track Demo Version More Info... 2:43
13)    Yuri-G 4-Track Demo Version More Info... 3:53
14)    Goodnight 4-Track Demo Version More Info... 4:17
Product Details


0731451845024. Stock Quantity

0. Stock Item

1. Rid Of Me

2. Legs

3. Reeling

4. Snake

5. Hook

6. 50Ft Queenie

7. Driving

8. Ecstasy

9. Hardly Wait

10. Rub 'til It Bleeds

11. Easy

12. M-Bike

13. Yuri-G

14. Goodnight

Performer Notes
  • 4-TRACK DEMOS contains eight songs from RID OF ME and six previously unreleased songs all in demo form.
  • Personnel: PJ Harvey (vocals).
  • 4-TRACK DEMOS is PJ Harvey's second collection of album demos (the first was included on the limited edition version of her DRY album), and is further proof, if it were needed, of the astonishing power of her songwriting. Consisting of demos from the RID OF ME album and six non-album tracks (several of which had previously appeared as B-sides to UK singles), 4-TRACK DEMOS is as basic and stripped-down as you can get.
  • These tracks feature nothing more than Harvey's slash-and-burn guitar playing and her brittle voice, which ranges from a twistedly seductive whisper to full-on anguished screams. By no means an easy listen, the songs here are frequently uncomfortably personal sounding, and often trade on the blackest kind of humor. The standouts on this collection include "50ft Queenie," delivered in an especially frenzied version featuring overdriven and distorted guitars, and "Rub 'Til it Bleeds," whose already tortured sound is further amplified by Harvey's edgy vocal, which veers from pleading to sarcastic, often within the same word. "M-Bike" is an early indication of the heavily blues-influenced tone of Harvey's later material.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (11/25/93, p.112) - 4 Stars - Excellent - "...make no mistake: raw, revelatory and indispensible, 4-TRACK DEMOS is no mere PJ HARVEY UNPLUGGED. These 14 cuts...reveal an artist in the pure state of creation..."

Spin (12/93, p.118) - "...4-TRACK DEMOS is Harvey alone. She still attacks the guitar, but it's her vocals that stun....Harvey [creates] the racket, wallows in it, then demands more..."

Melody Maker (1/1/94, p.77) - Ranked #31 in Melody Maker's list of the `Albums Of The Year' for 1993.

Melody Maker (10/16/93, p.41) - "...Viciously aggressive music with no numbing narcotic qualities...[4-TRACK DEMOS] is harrowing, but thoroughly compelling..."

Village Voice (3/1/94, p.5) - Ranked #35 in the Village Voice's 1993 Pazz & Jop Critics Poll.

NME (Magazine) (10/16/93, p.32) - 8 - Excellent - "...savage and raw..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top