Free Shipping Anywhere in the World

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

All Time Greatest Hits

Album: All Time Greatest Hits
# Song Title   Time
1)    Dang Me Single Version More Info... 1:50
2)    Chug-A-Lug Single Version More Info... 2:04
3)    Do-Wacka-Do Single Version More Info... 1:44
4)    In The Summertime Album Version More Info... 1:45
5)    King Of The Road Single Version More Info... 2:28
6)    You Can't Roller Skate In A Buffalo Herd Single Version More Info... 1:54
7)    Engine Engine #9 Single Version More Info... 2:18
8)    One Dyin' And A Buryin' Single Version More Info... 2:03
9)    The Last Word In Lonesome Is Me Single Version More Info... 2:48
10)    Kansas City Star Single Version More Info... 2:18
11)    England Swings Single Version More Info... 1:54
12)    Husbands And Wives Single Version More Info... 2:23
13)    I've Been A Long Time Leavin' (But I'll Be A Long Time Gone) Single Version More Info... 2:14
14)    Walkin' In The Sunshine Single Version More Info... 2:33
15)    Little Green Apples Single Version More Info... 2:38
16)    Me And Bobby McGee Single Version More Info... 4:02
17)    Where Have All The Average People Gone Single Version More Info... 3:01
18)    South Single Version More Info... 3:01
19)    Tomorrow Night In Baltimore Single Version More Info... 2:52
20)    River In The Rain More Info... 3:54
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Producers: Jerry Kennedy, Jimmy Bowen, Roger Miller.
  • Compilation producers: Andy McKaie, Cary E. Mansfield.
  • Includes liner notes by Robyn Flans.
  • Liner Note Author: Robyn Flans.
  • Recording information: Nashville, TN (01/11/1964-??/??/1985).
  • Photographers: Harry Goodwin; Scott Newton.
  • There have been many collections of Roger Miller's hitmaking peak on Mercury over the years, but few have been as comprehensive or as good as Mercury/Chronicle's 2003 CD, All Time Greatest Hits. Spanning 20 tracks over the course of one CD, this contains all the big songs: "Dang Me," "Chug-a-Lug," "Do Wacka Do," "In the Summertime (You Don't Want My Love)," "King of the Road," "You Can't Roller Skate in a Buffalo Herd," "Kansas City Star," "England Swings," and "Husbands and Wives," among others. All but one track from the seminal 1965 collection Golden Hits is here ("Atta Boy Girl" is the missing culprit -- a good song but not enough to tip the scales in favor of the 38-year-old collection), and it spans further than that record, collecting hits from 1967-1970 and ending with the 1986 hit "River in the Rain." While that final song isn't quite of the standard of what preceded it, it provides a nice closer to a set of songs that unequivocally proves Miller's genius. That might seem like a weighty word for a singer/songwriter whose specialty was lightweight funny songs, but the thing is, those songs have a certain mad ingenious sensibility that nobody else could replicate, and he could dig deeper -- witness "I've Been a Long Time Leavin' (But I'll Be a Long Time Gone)" -- when he wanted to. That side might not be mined as deeply as it could have been here, but that's what previous comps like the King of the Road box is for. This is a hits collection, a summary overview and introduction to his genius, and it succeeds brilliantly on that level. Absolutely essential. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top