We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...



Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Includes a 15-page booklet with chart history, complete album discography and historical photos.
  • Personnel: Don Barnes (vocals, guitar, piano); Donnie Van Zant (vocals, guitar); Jeff Carlisi, Danny Chauncey (guitar, fretless bass, background vocals); Jim Barnes (harmonica); Michael Hoskin (tenor & baritone saxophones); Larry Jackson (tenor saxophone, trumpet); Gordon Vernick (trumpet); Terry Emery, Billy Powell (piano); Bobby Capps, Max Carl (keyboards, background vocals); Steve McRay (keyboards); Larry Junstrom, Ken Lyons (bass); Jack Grondin, Steve Brookins (drums, percussion); Gary Moffatt, Greg Morrow, Jim Vallance, Denny Carmassi (drums); Scott Meeder (cymbals, percussion, programming); Jack Blades, Jim Peterik, Brian Howe, Robert White Johnson, Bob Beckwith, Tom Kelly, Carl Hall, Carol Veto, Louise Bethune, Dalel Krantz (background vocals).
  • Producers include: Rodney Mills, Dan Hartman, Don Barnes, Danny Chauncey, Keith Olsen.
  • Compilation producer: Mike Ragogna.
  • Recorded between 1977 & 1999. Includes liner notes by Bill DeYoung.
  • Digitally remastered by Erick Labson (Universal Mastering Studios West, North Hollywood, California).
  • Personnel: Don Barnes (vocals, guitar, mandolin, harmonica, piano); Danny Chauncey (vocals, guitar, fretless bass); Bobby Capps (vocals, piano, keyboards, background vocals); Max Carl (vocals, keyboards); Donnie Van Zant (vocals); Jeff Carlisi (guitar); Jim Barnes (harp); Michael Hoskin (tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone); Larry Jackson (tenor saxophone, trumpet); Gordon Vernick (trumpet); Steve McRay (piano, keyboards); Billy Powell (piano); Steve Brookins, Jack Grondin (drums, percussion); Denny Carmassi, Jim Vallance (drums); Scott Meeder (cymbals, percussion, drum programming); Carol Veto, Louise Bethune, Jack Blades, Jim Peterik, Tom Kelly , Brian Howe, Carl Hall (background vocals).
  • Photographers: Dennis Keeley; Chris Cuffaro; Norman Seeff; Harrison Funk; Henry Diltz; Joe Sia.
  • There's little question that Hip-O's 2001 double-disc set, Anthology, is a thorough, definitive overview of .38 Special's career, spanning from their hit-laden A&M albums, through their '90s albums for Charisma and Razor & Tie, and wrapping up with a studio cut from the CMC International release, Live at Sturgis. This is a good thing, if you're just judging an album in terms of comprehensiveness, which just may be what the dedicated are looking for, but if you're not dedicated, this collection is awfully long. That's not to say it doesn't do a good job of summarizing the group's career, since it does, but the hits -- "Rockin' in to the Night," "Hold on Loosely," "Caught Up in You," "If I'd Been the One," "Back Where You Belong" -- are so good, that the rest of the material is shown as the good, but generic, material that it is. So, for the casual fans, it might be better to seek out a more concise collection, including the 20th Century Masters disc, since they're almost all there. Yes, this collection contains a few gems not readily available on that disc or other collections -- the teachers theme, "Teacher, Teacher," and the hit ballad "Second Chance" -- but this still remains the province of the converted, not the casual. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Home » Music » Pop » Hard Rock
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top