Free Worldwide Shipping

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Back To Black [International Deluxe Edition]

Album: Back To Black [International Deluxe Edition]
# Song Title   Time
  Disc 1
1)    Rehab Album Version More Info... 3:34
2)    You Know I'm No Good More Info... 4:17
3)    Me & Mr Jones More Info... 2:32
4)    Just Friends More Info... 3:12
5)    Back To Black More Info... 4:00
6)    Love Is A Losing Game More Info... 2:34
7)    Tears Dry On Their Own More Info... 3:05
8)    Wake Up Alone More Info... 3:41
9)    Some Unholy War More Info... 2:21
10)    He Can Only Hold Her More Info... 2:45
11)    Addicted More Info... 2:45
  Disc 2
1)    Valerie Live, BBC Radio 1 Live Lounge, London/2007 More Info... 3:51
2)    Cupid Deluxe Edition Version More Info... 3:47
3)    Monkey Man More Info... 2:53
4)    Some Unholy War Down Tempo More Info... 3:14
5)    Hey Little Rich Girl More Info... 3:35
6)    To Know Him Is To Love Him Live For NapsterLive, London/2006 More Info... 2:22
7)    Love Is A Losing Game Original Demo More Info... 3:44
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Recording information: Chung King Studios; Dapking Studios; Instrument Zoo, Miami, FL; Metropolis Studios, London; Sensible Studios; Wise Buddah.
  • It doesn't take much listening to Amy Winehouse's 1960s pop period piece to realize that this is a tribute with an edge--nice girls back then didn't sing about boozing and rehab. Since her 2003 debut album, FRANK, Winehouse has been a frequent presence on the gossip pages of the U.K. tabloids, and her songwriting here candidly reflects her experiences with drinking, sex, and drugs.
  • BACK TO BLACK's production is an artful blend of sophisticated '60s R&B and 21st-century stylistic poaching, with "Tears Dry on Their Own" incorporating elements of Marvin Gaye and Tammi Terrell's "Ain't No Mountain High Enough," and Winehouse sounding like Billie Holiday fronting a reggae band on the old-fashioned cheating song "Just Friends." Densely packed with musical history and often conjuring a dark, Portishead-esque atmosphere, BACK TO BLACK is a sumptuous-sounding collection freighted with blunt confessionals of a lush life.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (p.76) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "Winehouse is a nervy, witty songstress whom indie rockers, pop fans and hip-hoppers can dig."

Rolling Stone (p.115) - Included in Rolling Stone's "50 Top Albums of the Year 2007" -- "[W]ith a brassy, intensely personal sorrow that is true blues, not nouveau soul."

Spin (p.79) - "[A] breakthrough, producers Salaam Remi and Mark Ronson surround her with brass sections, string sections, harp, Wurlitzer, the works."

Entertainment Weekly (p.67) - "It's precisely Winehouse's lyrics...aching, flirty, and often straight-up nasty -- that raise this expertly crafted set into the realm of true, of-the-minute originality." -- Grade: A-

Q (Magazine) (p.134) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "Winehouse is one of the best things to have happened to British pop recently."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Jazz
Home » Music » Pop
People also searched for
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top