Free Worldwide Shipping

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Becoming X

Album: Becoming X
# Song Title   Time
1)    Low Place Like Home
2)    Tesko Suicide
3)    6 Underground
4)    Becoming X
5)    Spin Spin Sugar
6)    Post-Modern Sleaze
7)    Waterbaby
8)    Roll On
9)    Wasted Early Sunday Morni
10)    Walking Zero
11)    How Do
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Producers: Line Of Flight, Jim Abbiss, Flood.
  • Engineers: Jim Abbiss, Line Of Flight, Flood, Luke Gifford, C. Goddard.
  • U.K. edition features alternate cover art.
  • Sneaker Pimps have clearly mastered the art of having your cake and eating it too. On BECOMING X, the British band combines techno beats and samples with Big Rock Guitar and cutesy-girl vocals a la Letters To Cleo, covering all bases for an eclectic sound that keeps things from getting too staid or predictable. While the overall mood is one of darkness and urban-jungle drama, Sneaker Pimps manage to come up with enough propulsive rhythms and arresting hooks to bring a little light to the proceedings.
  • Tracks like "6 Underground" slow down the pace a bit and add some acoustic instruments into the mix, making for a Portishead/Everything But The Girl vibe. Elsewhere, the band's rock and roll aspiration rears its head. Whether they're trip-hopping, rocking and rolling or raving, though, Sneaker Pimps provide enough substance beneath their stylistic veneers to keep you coming back for more.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (3/6/97, p.72) - 3 Stars (out of 5) - "...designs its sparse arrangements in the Tricky mold...adding snippets of bracing guitar and a little rock attitude....Using just a few stark elements, Sneaker Pimps make pop as tension-filled as an Edgar Allan Poe novel.."

Entertainment Weekly (3/14/97, p.80) - "...Whether massaging the senses with smooth, seductive grooves or spacing out in the beat-happy jungle of drum-and-bass, Sneaker Pimps manage to be ominously spooky without indulging in Tricky's gothic pretension and hypnotic without lapsing into Portishead's one-note gloom." - Rating: B+
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop
Home » Music » R&B » General
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top