Free Worldwide Shipping

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

The Best of Nina Simone [PolyGram]

Album: The Best of Nina Simone [PolyGram]
# Song Title   Time
1)    I Loves You Porgy Live In New York/1964 More Info... 2:33
2)    Mississippi Goddam Live In New York/1964 More Info... 4:55
3)    The Other Woman Live In New York/1964 More Info... 3:06
4)    Sinnerman Live In New York/1965 More Info... 10:22
5)    Ne Me Quitte Pas Album Version More Info... 3:37
6)    See-Line Woman Album Version More Info... 2:38
7)    I Put A Spell On You Album Version More Info... 2:38
8)    Break Down And Let It All Out Album Version More Info... 2:40
9)    Four Women Album Version More Info... 4:27
10)    Wild Is The Wind Live In New York/1964 More Info... 7:01
11)    Pirate Jenny Live In New York/1964 More Info... 6:42
12)    Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood Album Version More Info... 2:44
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel includes: Nina Simone (vocals, piano); Rudy Stephenson (flute, guitar); Al Shackman (harmonica, guitar); Lisle Atkinson (bass); Bobby Hamilton (drums).
  • Recorded in 1964 & 1965. Includes liner notes by Dick Lochte.
  • Personnel: Nina Simone (vocals, piano); Malcolm Dodd Singers (vocals); Rudy Stevenson (guitar, flute); Al Schackman (guitar, harmonica); Albert "Tootie" Heath, Montego Joe, Bobby Hamilton (drums).
  • Liner Note Author: Dick Lochte.
  • Recording information: ??/??/1964-10/01/1965.
  • Director: Horace Ott.
  • Unknown Contributor Role: Nina Simone.
  • Arrangers: Hal Mooney; Horace Ott; Nina Simone; Robert Mersey.
  • This popular Nina Simone compilation brings together tracks recorded between 1964 and 1966. At this time, Simone was signed to the Philips label, having released nine prior albums on Colpix and two on Bethlehem. The songs collected here capture Simone in her prime, creating some of the best work of her legendary career. As always, her style ranges all over the musical map, encompassing jazz, folk, protest songs, gospel, and R&B into a unique and compelling artistic vision.
  • Included on this wonderful sampler are such timeless classics as the socially conscious "Four Women," a Simone original that bitterly charts the fate of a quartet of very different women united by their color. THE BEST OF NINA SIMONE also features the hauntingly beautiful "Wild is the Wind," her epic, gospel-flavored landmark recording of "Sinnerman," and many other tracks you will want to hear again and again. BEST contains some of the best from one of music's best.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Jazz
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Vocal » General
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top