Free Worldwide Shipping

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

The Best of the Velvet Underground

Album: The Best of the Velvet Underground: Words and Music of Lou Reed
# Song Title   Time
1)    I'm Waiting For The Man More Info... 4:45
2)    Femme Fatale More Info... 2:36
3)    Run Run Run More Info... 4:20
4)    Heroin More Info... 7:10
5)    All Tomorrow's Parties More Info... 5:57
6)    I'll Be Your Mirror More Info... 2:08
7)    White Light/White Heat More Info... 2:46
8)    Stephanie Says More Info... 2:49
9)    What Goes On More Info... 4:51
10)    Beginning To See The Light More Info... 4:38
11)    Pale Blue Eyes More Info... 5:39
12)    I Can't Stand It More Info... 3:22
13)    Lisa Says More Info... 2:55
14)    Sweet Jane More Info... 3:14
15)    Rock And Roll More Info... 4:37
Product Details


1. I'm Waiting For The Man

2. Femme Fatale

3. Run Run Run

4. Heroin

5. All Tomorrow's Parties

6. I'll Be Your Mirror

7. White Light/White Heat

8. Stephanie Says

9. What Goes On

10. Beginning To See The Light

11. Pale Blue Eyes

12. I Can't Stand It

13. Lisa Says

14. Sweet Jane

15. Rock And Roll

Performer Notes
  • Velvet Underground: Lou Reed, Doug Yule, Sterling Morrison, Maureen Tucker.
  • Additional personnel: Nico (vocals).
  • Producers: Andy Warhol, Tom Wilson, Geofrey Haslam, Shel Kagan, Velvet Underground.
  • Compilation producer: Bill Levinson.
  • Recorded between 1966 & 1970. Includes liner notes by Anthony De Curtis.
  • Digitally remastered by Dennis Drake & Greg Calbi.
  • Liner Note Author: Anthony DeCurtis.
  • Recording information: 06/1966-??/1970.
  • Unknown Contributor Roles: Doug Yule; John Cale; Lou Reed; Maureen Tucker; Nico; Sterling Morrison.
  • The legacy of the Velvet Underground has grown to mythic proportions as the decades wear on, and their influence continues to impact new generations of musicians. Attempting to sum up the scope of their sonic achievements proves a difficult task and a wide variety of compilations and previously unearthed recordings keep surfacing, attempting to unravel the mystery of this short-lived and impossibly cool band from New York City. This best-of collection takes the most direct route, leaning heavily on popular selections from the band's 1967 debut, like "I'll Be Your Mirror" and "Femme Fatale," both sung by Nico. The noisier side of the band is represented more sparingly, with only the title track from the more experimental second album, White Light/White Heat, and the sprawling "Heroin" drifting into the challenging side of the Velvets' forced matchmaking with pop and chaos. Tunes like the hauntingly beautiful "Pale Blue Eyes" or "Sweet Jane," from later album Loaded, pair nicely with rockers like "What Goes On" and "I Can't Stand It," and while this collection might be a little pedestrian for studied fans of the band's catalog, it serves as an excellent introduction to one of the most quietly perfect bands in the history of rock music. ~ Fred Thomas
Professional Reviews
Q - 4 Stars - Excellent
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop
Home » Music » Pop » Exercise
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top