Free Worldwide Shipping

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Body Count [Parental Advisory]

Album: Body Count
# Song Title   Time
1)    Smoked Pork
2)    Body Count's in the House
3)    Now Sports
4)    Body Count
5)    Statistic, A
6)    Bowels of the Devil
7)    Real Problem, The
8)    KKK Bitch
9)    C Note
10)    Voodoo
11)    Winner Loses, The
12)    There Goes the Neighborhood
13)    Oprah
14)    Evil Dick
15)    Body Count Anthem
16)    Momma's Gotta Die Tonight
17)    Freedom of Speech
Product Details


1. Smoked Pork

2. Body Count's In The House

3. Now Sports

4. Body Count

5. Statistic

6. Bowels Of The Devil

7. Real Problem

8. Kkk Bitch

9. Note

10. Voodoo

11. Winner Loses

12. There Goes The Neighborhood

13. Oprah

14. Evil Dick

15. Body Count Anthem

16. Momma's Gotta Die Tonight

17. Ice T/Freedom Of Speech

Performer Notes
  • This album previously contained the track "Cop Killer", but does not anymore.
  • Body Count: Ice-T (lead vocals), Ernie C. (lead & acoustic guitar), D-Roc (guitar), Mooseman (bass), Beatmaster V (drums).
  • All songs by Ice-T and Ernie C. except "The Winner Loses" and "C Note" (Ernie C.).
  • Recorded at One-on-One Recorders, North Hollywood and Syndicate Studio West, September - December, 1991.
  • Personnel: Ice-T (vocals); Ernie C. (guitar, acoustic guitar); Beat Masters (drums).
  • Audio Mixers: Ernie C. ; Ice-T.
  • Recording information: Kingsound Studios, N. Hollywood, CA (09/1991-12/1991); One On One Studios, North Hollywood, CA (09/1991-12/1991); Rick Marvin Studio (09/1991-12/1991); Syndicate Studio West (09/1991-12/1991).
  • Photographers: Todd Gray; Randy Alexander.
  • Arranger: Ice-T.
  • Divorced from the controversy that surrounded its release, Body Count's self-titled debut is a surprisingly tepid affair. Apart from the previously released "Body Count" (which appeared on Ice-T's 1991 album O.G. Original Gangster), the record is devoid of serious commentary, trading intelligence for a lurid comic book depiction of sex, violence, and "Voodoo." All of Ice-T's half-sung/half-shouted lyrics fall far short of the standard he established on his hip-hop albums. The controversial "Cop Killer" -- which is nothing more than a standard thrash metal chant -- stands out because it is one of the few tracks that doesn't rely on garish, cartoonish imagery. There's the saga of "Evil Dick," which tells Ice-T to not "sleep alone." There's "KKK Bitch," where he crashes a Ku Klux Klan meeting and screws the grand dragon's daughter. There's "Voodoo," where a witch doctor cripples our hero with a voodoo doll. There's "Mama's Gotta Die Tonight," where Ice-T offs his mother cause she's racist. By the time the band works around to the power ballad "The Winner Loses" and Ice-T is crooning, "My friend's addicted to cocaine," it's unclear whether the record is a parody or a flawed stab at arena metal. Either way, Body Count is a humorous curio from the early '90s that will appeal either to metalheads or listeners with a twisted sense of humor. [After "Cop Killer" was pulled from the album, it was replaced with a bland version of Ice-T's rap classic "The Iceberg" recorded with Jello Biafra.] ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (5/14/92, p.105) - 3 Stars - Good - "...messages count less for this band than sheer physical release, and at bottom that's where `Body Count' really makes its mark, offering the sort of sonic intensity parental groups fear even more than 4-letter words..."

Entertainment Weekly (5/8/92, p.56) - "...Moronic, sexist, profane, gratuitously violent, loud and morally reprehensible--yep, a heavy metal album. But this time it's a good one..." - Rating: A-

Village Voice (3/2/93, p.5) - Ranked #31 in the Village Voice's list of the 40 Best Albums Of 1992.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top