Free Worldwide Shipping

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Breath of the Heart

Album: Breath of the Heart
# Song Title   Time
1)    Baba Hanuman
2)    Kainchi Hare Krishna
3)    Ma Durga
4)    Kashi Vishwanath Gange
5)    Om Namo Bhagavate Vasudevaya
6)    Brindavan Hare Ram
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel includes: Krishna Das (vocals, harmonium); Steve Ross, Michael McCarthy (guitar); Lili Haydn (violin); Nina Piaseckyj (cello); Steve Gorn (bansuri flute); Benmont Tench (piano, Hammond B-3 organ); Rob McDonald (bass); Ty Burhoe (tabla); Alan Astin, Nina Rao, Keshav Das Hunter (cymbals); Kosmic Kirtan Posse (background vocals).
  • Recorded at Cello Studios, Los Angeles, California in January 2001. Includes liner notes by Krishna Das.
  • Personnel: Krishna Das (vocals, harmonium); Krishna Das; Steve Ross , Steve Ross (guitar); Nina Piaseckyj (cello); Steve Gorn (bansuri); Benmont Tench (piano, Hammond b-3 organ); John McDowell (piano, djembe, shaker, tambourine); Keshav Hunter, Allen J. Astin, Nina Rao (finger cymbals); Ty Burhoe (tabla); Lili Haydn (violin).
  • Audio Mixer: David Schiffman.
  • Liner Note Author: Krishna Das.
  • Recording information: Cello Studios, Los Angeles, CA (01/2001).
  • Editor: Jay Messina.
  • Photographer: Carla J. Cummings.
  • Unknown Contributor Roles: John McDowell; Benjy Wertheimer.
  • Krishna Das's journey into the philosophy of India began in the winter of 1969, when he drove all night through a New England snowstorm to meet the legendary Ram Dass. The meeting turned out to be brief and anticlimactic, but on his drive home the young seeker discovered himself constantly repeating the chant Ram Dass had given him. There was no turning back.
  • In a sense, BREATH OF THE HEART is like that initial encounter. Unlike Krishna Das's tantalizing earlier work PILGRIM HEART, BREATH works slowly on the senses but ultimately helps declare an indigenous, uniquely American form of Hindu worship. Producer Rick Rubin has narrowed Das's palette while bringing forth his well-worn growl amid the chorus of his Kosmic Kirtan Posse. On "Kainchi Hare Krishna" and the doleful "Ma Durga," the nervous energy of the young convert is replaced with a brooding self-assurance, and the comfort of a long-term relationship. After years of searching, Krishna Das sounds at last as if he has nothing to prove.
Professional Reviews
NAPRA Review (01-02/02, p.78) - "...Slow, rhythmic chanting...building a richly textured musical construction..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top