Free Worldwide Shipping

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

The Catherine Wheel

Album: The Catherine Wheel
# Song Title   Time
1)    Light Bath
2)    His Wife Refused
3)    Ade
4)    Walking
5)    Two Soldiers
6)    Under the Mountain
7)    Dinosaur
8)    Red House, The
9)    Wheezing
10)    Eggs in a Briar Patch
11)    Poison
12)    Cloud Chamber
13)    Black Flag
14)    My Big Hands (Fall Through the Cracks)
15)    Combat
16)    Leg Bells
17)    Blue Flame, The
18)    Big Business
19)    Dense Beasts
20)    Five Golden Sections
21)    What a Day That Was
22)    Big Blue Plymouth (Eyes Wide Open)
23)    Light Bath
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: David Byrne (vocals, guitar, flute, piano, Clavinet, synthesizer, Oberheim synthesizer, sound effects); Sue Halloran, Dolette McDonald, Dollette McDonald (vocals); Adrian Belew (guitar, steel guitar, steel drum, sound effects); Brian Eno (guitar, piano, keyboards, vibraphone, background vocals); John Chernoff (guitar, piano, congas, percussion); Bernie Worrell (piano, Clavinet, keyboards, synthesizer, Moog synthesizer); Jerry Harrison (Clavinet, organ, drums); John Cooksey, Yogi Horton (drums); Steve Scales (congas, percussion).
  • Recording information: Celestial Sound Studios; Olympic Sound, London, England.
  • Unknown Contributor Roles: Twyla Tharp; John Chernoff; Adrian Belew; Richard Horowitz; David Byrne; Doug Gray.
  • David Byrne's first solo project--not counting his collaboration with Brian Eno, MY LIFE IN THE BUSH OF GHOSTS--is a score for a ballet by Twyla Tharp which was commissioned in an unusual way. Tharp gave Byrne a tape of edits of existing music, which the troupe had been using in initial rehearsals, and told him to write new music which matched the length, tempo, and mood of what was on the tape.
  • As a result, THE CATHERINE WHEEL has an odd, occasionally disjointed effect, with short segues and instrumental interludes appearing between what are basically Talking Heads-style pop songs. In fact, this album's best track, "What a Day That Was," was performed by the Heads on the STOP MAKING SENSE tour. So basically, this was not nearly as much of a departure for Byrne as it was claimed to be at the time.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top