We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

Chas And Dave Greatest Hits


Product Description
Product Details


1. Gertcha

2. Rabbit

3. The Sideboard Song

4. Ain't No Pleasing You

5. Margate

6. Poor Old Mr. Woogie

7. Long Time No See

8. Billy Tyler

9. I'm In Trouble

10. London Girls

11. My Melancholy Baby

12. You Made Me Love You

13. I Wonder In Whose Arms

14. The Banging In Your Head

15. Breathless (Live)

16. 12th Street Rag

17. Somebody Stole My Girl

18. Wallop!

19. Strummin'

20. Snooker Loopy

Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Charles "Chas" Hodges (vocals, guitar, piano, keyboards); Dave Peacock (vocals, violin, bass guitar); Mick Burt (drums).
  • Liner Note Authors: Mark LaMarr; Charles "Chas" Hodges.
  • Recording information: EMI Abbey Road Studios, London, England (1979-2005).
  • Arrangers: Dave Peacock; Charles "Chas" Hodges.
  • This Greatest Hits collection from British novelty duo Chas & Dave (singer/guitarist Charles "Chas" Hodges and singer/bassist Dave Peacock) starts appropriately with "Gertcha," a song that became a regional phenomenon when it appeared in a commercial for "John Courage" beer in the early 1979. More commercial work for the brewing company followed, including sudsy renditions of the duo's "Margate" and "Rabbit," also included here. The pair's amiable blend of rock & roll and bar band blues kept them on the charts (or at least pub jukeboxes) for nearly four decades, and while distinctly English, their bawdy humor and good-natured ribbing transcend its cockney origins. ~ James Christopher Monger
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pub Rock
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.

Back to top