Free Shipping Anywhere in the World

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Complete Discography

Album: Complete Discography
# Song Title   Time
1)    Filler
2)    I Don't Wanna Hear It
3)    Seeing Red
4)    Straight Edge
5)    Small Man, Big Mouth
6)    Screaming at a Wall
7)    Bottled Violence
8)    Minor Threat
9)    Stand Up
10)    12XU
11)    In My Eyes
12)    Out of Step (With the World)
13)    Guilty of Being White
14)    (I'm Not Your) Steppin' Stone
15)    Betray
16)    It Follows
17)    Think Again
18)    Look Back and Laugh
19)    Sob Story
20)    No Reason
21)    Little Friend
22)    Out of Step
23)    Cashing In
24)    Stumped
25)    Good Guys (Don't Wear White)
26)    Salad Days
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Minor Threat: Ian MacKaye (vocals); Brian Baker (guitar, bass); Lyle Preslar (guitar); Steve Hansgen (bass); Jeff Nelson (drums).
  • Recorded at Inner Ear Studios, Arlington, Virginia between April 1981 and December 1983.
  • Personnel: Ian MacKaye (vocals); Lyle Preslar, Brian Baker (guitar); Jeff Nelson (drums).
  • Audio Mixers: Skip Groff; Jeff Nelson; Lyle Preslar; Minor Threat.
  • Recording information: Inner Ear Studios, Arlington, VA (04/1981-12/1983).
  • Photographers: Tomas Squip; Glen E. Friedman; Susie Josephson.
  • The Washington, D.C. straightedge hardcore punk scene began with Minor Threat. The band recorded two LPs on its own Dischord label, plus an EP and the miscellaneous singles that are collected on this CD. Many of the early recordings on this collection seethe with teen-age angst and indignation. The songs rage against bullies, religious hypocrisy, and the herd mentality.
  • Other songs, taken from later in Minor Threat's career, feature tighter and more sophisticated playing. Metallic flourishes tinge the guitar work, vocal harmonies abound, and song dynamics vary more than on the earlier record. On certain songs, Ian MacKaye's lyrics address the complexities of friendship, loyalty, and self-expression. "Look Back and Laugh," "Little Friend," and "It Follows" all incline more toward introspection and ambiguity; conveying loss and sadness in addition to outrage. This second set of songs seems to especially anticipate MacKaye's later work with Fugazi. The album also contains a few playful numbers like the sing-along cover of "Stepping Stone," and "Cashing In," a mocking dig at greedy musicians. Minor Threat believed completely in the power of its music, helping earn a loyal fan following and the respect of numerous other bands who emulated its style and credo.
Professional Reviews
Spin (5/01, p.110) - Ranked #27 in Spin's "50 Most Essential Punk Records" - "...The Leviticus of hardcore and straight edge..."

Mojo (Publisher) (3/01, p.114) - "...The group that encapsulates the essence of hardcore better than any other....tighter and more coherent in their ire....they made a non-smoking, non-drinking, non-shagging existence seem positively attractive, such was the righteous indignation...of [their] method rage."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top