Free Shipping Anywhere in the World

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Complete Sextet Studio Sessions

Album: Complete Sextet Studio Sessions
# Song Title   Time
1)    Hollering At the Watkins
2)    Used To Be Basie
3)    How Deep is the Ocean
4)    Studio Call
5)    Willow Weep For Me
6)    Opus 711
7)    Love is Here To Stay
8)    K.M. Blues
9)    Walkin' With Sweets
10)    Night is Blue, The
11)    Easy On the Eyes
12)    Just a Mood
13)    Sunrise Blues
1)    Blues For the Blues
2)    Blues For Piney Brown
3)    Moonlight In Vermont
4)    Taste On the Place
5)    Gee, Baby, Ain't I Good To You
6)    Blues For Bill Basie
7)    You're Getting To Be a Habit With Me
8)    Blues For the Blues [Alt. Take] - (alternate take)
9)    Alone Together
10)    Willow, Weep For Me
11)    Bidin' My Time
12)    Makin' Whoopee
13)    Moon Song
14)    Louise
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Although they originally became famous for playing with different big bands (trumpeter Harry "Sweets" Edison with Count Basie and tenor saxophonist Ben Webster with Duke Ellington), the two very distinctive swing stylists recorded together frequently in the late 1950s including with Billie Holiday. The music on this two-CD set is drawn from four different record projects from 1956-1957. A pair of Edison-led records, Sweets and Gee Baby, Ain't I Good to You?, are reissued in full. The two horns are joined on the former set by pianist Jimmy Rowles and guitarist Barney Kessel in the rhythm quartet while the latter has the Oscar Peterson Quartet. Not too surprisingly, the music is strongly influenced by Count Basie and the emphasis is on basic originals along with occasional standards. Also on this two-fer are the four numbers from Dave Garroway's Some of My Favorites LP that feature the two horns with Rowles and vibraphonist Red Norvo, and the six Woody Herman vocals from Songs for Hip Lovers that also have Edison and Webster. While it would also be desirable to acquire the Garroway and Herman sets in full, this is a generous two-fer that has Webster and Edison playing in prime form throughout. Fun and swinging music. ~ Scott Yanow
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » General
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Back to top