We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...


Hurry - Only 2 left in stock!

Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Full performer name: Dr. L. Subramaniam/Stephane Grappelli.
  • Personnel: Dr. L. Subramaniam, Stephane Grapelli, Frank Bennett, Anthony Hindson, Handel Manuel, Mark Massey, Frank Morgan, Manoochehr Sadeghi, Joe Sample, Niles Steiner, Jorge Strunz, Ron Wagner, Jerry Watts.
  • Recorded in May 1984.
  • Adapter: L. Subramaniam.
  • Personnel: L. Subramaniam (tamboura, violin, viola, percussion); St‚phane Grappelli (violin, piano); Jorge Strunz (guitar); Joe Sample (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, piano, electric piano, keyboards); Anthony Hindson (electric guitar); Manoochehr Sadeghi (santur); Frank Morgan (alto saxophone); Mark Massey (piano, keyboards, synthesizer); Handel Manuel (piano); Ron Wagner (drums); Frank Bennett (percussion).
  • Audio Mixer: Phil Kaffel.
  • Recording information: Studio II, Culver City, CA (05/1984).
  • Arranger: L. Subramaniam.
  • Although fellow violinist Stephane Grappelli is billed as co-leader, this is very much L. Subramaniam's date. All eight compositions (except for Grappelli's solo piano rendition of his "Tribute to Mani") are by Subramaniam, and the music (which utilizes electronics, modern rhythms, and the influence of Mani's Indian heritage) is quite unusual for a Grappelli session. Altoist Frank Morgan helps out on "Memories," and other sidemen include such notables as keyboardist Joe Sample and guitarist Jorge Strunz. The contrast between the two surprisingly complementary violinists is a strong reason to acquire this CD. ~ Scott Yanow
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top