We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

Cosmo Sun Connection


Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • COSMO SUN CONNECTION was originally released in a limited edition in 1985. This 1997 reissue is the first widely available release.
  • Personnel includes: Sun Ra (piano, organ, synthesizer); Marshall Allen (alto saxophone); Eloe Omoe (alto saxophone, clarinet); John Gilmore (tenor saxophone); Tyrone Hill (trombone); Danny Ray Thompson (flute, bass).
  • Recorded in 1984. Includes liner notes by Chris Cutler.
  • Personnel: Sun Ra (piano, organ, keyboards, synthesizer); Marshall Allen (flute, alto saxophone); Danny Thompson (flute); Eloe Omoe (bass clarinet, alto saxophone); John Gilmore (tenor saxophone, timbales); Tyrone Hill (trombone); Atakatune (drums, congas).
  • Liner Note Author: Chris Cutler.
  • Recording information: United States (1984).
  • Photographer: Heike Liss.
  • It's 1984, and having already spent the advance intended for the vinyl pressing of COSMO SUN CONNECTION, the struggling Arkestra (here an octet) finds itself compelled to relinquish the master tape to the European label Recommended. At times, the recording quality is rough and tinny, an unidentified vocal purr barely audible, the engineer's cigarette ash diffused across the mixing board. Yet, the "imperfections" only accentuate the session's glorious organic quality, marking yet another chapter in Ra's sonic science textbook.
  • A trimmed-down horn section opens with the staple "Fate In A Pleasant Mood," and you know--destiny really does sound a couple of saxophones brighter. Dynamic arranging, a mysterious synthesizer and Atakatune's congas make it a happy occasion for all involved. For fans of Ra's solo synth expositions, the title track is an outcry of high lines spiraling down over a barely tonal bass drone, wrenching suddenly upward like the revving of a sun-bound rocket engine. "Cosmonaut Astronaut Rendezvous" features more of the customary instrumental exploration--you can do that with an alto?! Wonderfully varied in style, these six tracks make a fine cross section of Sun Ra's "space jazz" and are fairly accessible for the novice astronaut.
Professional Reviews
The Wire (3/98, p.61) - "...further back into the future...an ensemble performance [which] transmutes into unaccompanied boogie woogie....enigmatic and beautiful...the album closes with a melodramatic Ra piece that sound like a rusty space rocket hitting an asteroid belt..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top