Free Worldwide Shipping

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

The Definitive Collection

Album: The Definitive Collection
# Song Title   Time
1)    Hey There
2)    Birth of the Blues, The
3)    Something's Gotta Give
4)    Love Me or Leave Me
5)    That Old Black Magic
6)    Too Close for Comfort
7)    There's a Boat Dat's Leavin' Soon for New York
8)    Lady Is a Tramp, The
9)    What Kind of Fool Am I?
10)    Gonna Build a Mountain
11)    Shelter of Your Arms, The
12)    Night Song
13)    My Shining Hour
14)    Lonely Is the Name
15)    I've Gotta Be Me
16)    Rhythm of Life, The
17)    Candy Man, The
18)    Mr. Bojangles
19)    People Tree, The
20)    Keep Your Eye on the Sparrow (Baretta's Theme)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Liner Note Author: David Ritz.
  • Photographers: Govert de Roos; Herb Snitzer; David Redfern; Lee Tanner.
  • Arrangers: Dave Grusin; Don Costa; Richard Wess; Marty Paich; Mort Stevens; Perry Botkin, Jr.; Quincy Jones; Sy Oliver.
  • The Candy Man most certainly could, as evidenced by this smartly compiled 20-track collection. Sammy Davis Jr., one of America's most intriguing and beloved entertainers, was adept at handling both classic pop tunes and smoky jazz standards, crooning them in a voice that could be smooth, pleasing, and irreverent. As an African-American Jew (with one eye, no less), Davis was undeniably a show business anomaly, but one listen to songs such "I've Gotta Be Me" or "Love Me or Leave Me," and his signature tunes "Mr. Bojangles" and "The Candy Man," proves that Davis's outsider status was a source of pride and creative energy, rather than an inhibitor.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Vocal » Show Vocals
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top