We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

Eazy Duz It [LP][25th Anniversary Edition][Explicit]


Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Eazy-E, M.C. Ren (vocals); Dr. Dre (vocals, programming); Yella (drums, scratches).
  • Recorded at Audio Achievements, Torrance, California.
  • Personnel: Eazy-E, Menajahtwa, Buckwheat, Will1, At Band Klan (rap vocals).
  • Producers include: Dr. Dre, Yella, Naughty By Nature, Cold 187UM, Bobby "Bobcat" Ervin.
  • Recorded at Audio Achievements, Torrance, California.
  • All tracks have been digitally remastered.
  • This contains as bonus material the EP 5150 HOME 4 THA SICK.
  • Personnel: Eazy-E, Menajahtwa, Buckwheat, Will 1X, At Band Klan (rap vocals).
  • Producers: Naughty By Nature, Cold 187UM, Bobby "Bobcat" Ervin, Dr. Jam, Madness 4 Real.
  • Recorded at Audio Achievements, Torrance, California.
  • Released only a month after Straight Outta Compton (1988), Eazy-Duz-It was the first N.W.A spin-off album. Years before Ice Cube went solo with Amerikkka's Most Wanted (1990), before Dr. Dre changed the rap game with The Chronic (1992), before MC Ren struggled to establish himself with Shock of the Hour (1993), and before Yella simply fell into obscurity, Eazy-E rose to immediate superstar status with this solo debut. It's no wonder why, for the album plays like a humorous, self-centered twist on Straight Outta Compton with Eazy-E, the most charismatic member of N.W.A, front and center while his associates are busy behind the scenes, producing the beats and writing the songs. In terms of production, Dr. Dre and Yella meld together P-Funk, Def Jam-style hip-hop, and the leftover electro sounds of mid-'80s Los Angeles, creating a dense, funky, and thoroughly unique style of their own. In terms of songwriting, the D.O.C., Ice Cube, and MC Ren are each credited; plus, Ren performs raps of his own on five of the 12 songs. The collaborative nature of the music -- with Dre and Yella producing; the D.O.C., Ice Cube, and MC Ren writing the songs; MC Ren featured as a guest on half of them; and Eazy-E performing -- fortunately makes Eazy-Duz-It more of an N.W.A effort than a true solo album. This is fortunate because as charismatic as he may be, Eazy-E isn't an especially gifted MC. He's at his best here when he's cracking wise and also when he's overshadowed by Dr. Dre's productions, particularly on the four-song sequence of "Eazy Duz It," "We Want Eazy," "Eazy-er Said Than Dunn," and "Radio" -- all heavily produced songs with layers upon layers of samples and beats competing with Eazy-E's rhymes for attention. Straight Outta Compton is no doubt the more revolutionary album, yet Eazy-Duz-It is a great companion, showcasing N.W.A's sense of humor and, despite the often violent subject matter, casting them in a lighter, more humorous mood. When Eazy-E would return with a second solo release, 5150 Home 4 tha Sick, his N.W.A associates would be M.I.A. and the difference would be stark. ~ Jason Birchmeier
Professional Reviews
Q - 3 Stars - Good

Q - 3 Stars - Good

Q - 3 Stars - Good
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » R&B » General
People also searched for
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top