Free Shipping Anywhere in the World

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeros *

Album: Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeros *
# Song Title   Time
1)    Better Days
2)    Let's Get High
3)    Two
4)    Please!
5)    Country Calling
6)    Life Is Hard
7)    If I Were Free
8)    In the Lion
9)    They Were Wrong
10)    In the Summer
11)    Remember to Remember
12)    This Life
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Christian Letts (vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, 12-string guitar, mandolin, bass drum); Alex Ebert (vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, melodica, keyboards, electric bass, percussion); Jade Castrinos (vocals, acoustic guitar).
  • Audio Mixers: Alex Ebert; Matt Linesch.
  • Recording information: Adios Studios, Ojai, CA; Ocean Way Recording, Los Angeles, CA; Studio in the Country, Bogaleusa, LA.
  • Photographers: Nora Kirkpatrick; Laure Vincent-Bouleau; Stewart Cole.
  • The wild, woolly gospel of Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeros arrived in 2009, a self reinvention of lead singer/songwriter/bandleader Alex Ebert, who was coming off his mid-aughts dance-punk unit Ima Robot. Reborn as something of a messianic character leading an enormous hippie rock commune/caterwauling backing band, Ebert worked with his Zeros in an ever-anthemic framework on both 2009's debut Up from Below and its 2012 follow-up Here. Both these albums borrowed generously from a variety of classic rock radio staples and dorm-room favorites, weaving the influence of everyone from the Doors to Bob Marley into their tunes. Their third, self-titled album is much the same, but with a few key variants. The crystal-clear production of the earlier albums is replaced with a much more raw, even overdriven sound. Ebert's vocals crackle both with his trademark emphatic delivery and also this newfound layer of production fuzz. Likewise, the instruments are a little more scuffed-up and lo-fi than on previous releases, with notably distorted drums meshing with a soup of defocused instruments. Another change this time around comes in the wandering song structures. The shuffling, Sgt. Pepper's-indebted "Let's Get High" moves through a handclapping poppy section full of blurting brass and "high on love" choruses before slowing down into murky doo wop structures around the three-minute mark and eventually spending the last minute or so on swirling vocal chants. Uncommon structural turns like this happen throughout the album, with tracks like "If I Were Free" wandering into unexpected jammy sections. The Beatles worship that was prevalent on Up from Below returns with a vengeance, with multiple references to Lennon/McCartney compositions, sometimes as blatant as the crunchy guitar lead of "Oh! Darling" being appropriated for the chorus of the Zeros' "This Life" and other times as subtle as a vocal affectation borrowed from Let It Be. Vocalist Jade Castrinos again joins Ebert with her passionate howl, adding life to the record on her sole lead vocal tune, "Remember to Remember." Along with the Beatles-borrowed marching band sounds and milky guitar tones, the band also tries on a '60s soul influence, bringing to mind Devendra Banhart's fractured take on doo wop on tracks like "They Were Wrong." ~ Fred Thomas
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (p.66) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "The choral and brass arrangements are rich, the band's hands must be calloused from clapping, and the grooves lope and boogie hard."

Q (Magazine) (p.100) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[I]t's all linked by Alex Ebert's soul man vocals and the sense of questing only the potentially great know."

Paste (magazine) - "California 10-piece Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros somehow embodies the ultimate modern-hippie stereotype while still exuding a refreshing authenticity."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top