Free Shipping Anywhere in the World

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Electric Ladyland [Remaster]

New or Used: US$9.94
New or Used: US$9.94

Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • The Jimi Hendrix Experience: Jimi Hendrix (vocals, guitar, bass); Noel Redding (vocals, bass); Mitch Mitchell (vocals, drums).
  • Additional personnel: Chris Wood (flute); Freddie Smith (tenor saxophone); Al Kooper (piano); Mike Finnigan, Steve Winwood (organ); Jack Casady (bass); Buddy Miles (drums); Larry Faucette (congas).
  • Principally recorded at the Record Plant, New York, New York in April and May 1968.
  • Personnel: Jimi Hendrix (vocals, guitar, piano, harpsichord); Noel Redding (vocals, bass guitar); Jeanette Jacobs (vocals); Dave Mason (guitar, acoustic guitar, background vocals); Chris Wood (flute); Fred Smith (saxophone, tenor saxophone, horns); Al Kooper (piano, keyboards); Mike Mandel (piano); Mike Finnigan, Steve Winwood (organ); Mitch Mitchell, Buddy Miles (drums); Larry Faucette (congas); The Sweet Inspirations (background vocals).
  • Audio Mixer: Jimi Hendrix.
  • Audio Remasterers: Eddie Kramer; George Marino; Joe Gastwirt.
  • Liner Note Authors: Derek Taylor; Michael Fairchild; Jimi Hendrix.
  • Recording information: Mayfair Studios, New York, NY; Olympic Studios, London, England; Record Plant Studios, New York, NY; Record Plant, New York, NY; The Record Plant, NY.
  • Director: Jimi Hendrix.
  • Photographers: Gered Mankowitz; Richard Montgomery; John Adler; David Sygall; Ed Thrasher; Axel Rad; David Montgomery; Karl Ferris; Linda McCartney.
  • Arranger: Jimi Hendrix.
  • On ELECTRIC LADYLAND Jimi Hendrix stretched and experimented in the studio, going beyond the power-trio format on what would be his last studio album with the Experience. ELECTRIC LADYLAND was revolutionary in its scope and execution. Using New York City's Record Plant as a gateway to free expression, Hendrix traversed an abstract landscape containing compositions as weird and wonderful as "...And The Gods Made Love" and "1983...(A Merman I Should Turn To Be)."
  • Simultaneously looking forwards and backwards, Hendrix mixed in a song reminiscent of his time on the chitlin' circuit (Earl King's "Come On [Part 1]"), a Bob Dylan favorite ("All Along The Watchtower"), and one of his snappiest singles ("Crosstown Traffic"). Although Hendrix produced and wrote most of this masterpiece, others weighed in with their own contributions. Noel Redding penned "Little Miss Strange," and other guests such as Al Kooper and Buddy Miles showed up to play. Traffic's Steve Winwood and Jack Casady of Jefferson Airplane also made cameos, appearing on this classic album's spiritual center, "Voodoo Chile (Slight Return)."
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (12/11/03, p.112) - Ranked #54 in Rolling Stone's "500 Greatest Albums Of All Time" - "...LADYLAND showcases Hendrix's further explorations of the guitar..."

Q (1/03, p.64) - Included in Q Magazine's "100 Greatest Albums Ever"

Q (12/93, p.136) - 4 Stars (out of 5) - "...ELECTRIC LADYLAND doubles back to develop Hendrix's pre-Experience preoccupation with the grittiest R&B..."

Down Beat (8/97, p.61) - 5 stars (out of 5) - "...[Electric Ladyland] finds him freed form the confines of AM radio's three-minute song length, boldly jamming with jazz sensibilities..."

Vibe (2/02, p.87) - Included in Vibe's "Essential Black Rock Recordings".

Vibe (2/94, p.103) - "...for folks who've never heard Jimi on vinyl, the rainbow fantasia world of Hendrix awaits you in all its polyphonic peacock glory..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Home » Music » Pop » Hard Rock
Back to top