Free Shipping Anywhere in the World

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

The Eminent Jay Jay Johnson, Vol. 1 [Remaster]

Album: The Eminent Jay Jay Johnson, Vol. 1 [Remaster]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Capri
2)    Lover Man
3)    Turnpike
4)    Sketch
5)    It Could Happen to You
6)    Get Happy
7)    Capri - (alternate take)
8)    Turnpike - (alternate take)
9)    Get Happy - (alternate take)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: J.J. Johnson (trombone); Jimmy Heath (tenor & baritone saxophones); Clifford Brown (trumpet); John Lewis (piano); Percy Heath (bass); Kenny Clarke (drums).
  • Recorded at WOR Studio, New York, New York on June 22, 1953.
  • The CD reissue of the two volumes titled The Eminent Jay Jay Johnson straighten out his three Blue Note sessions of 1953-55 and add alternate takes. This particular CD concentrates exclusively on the trombonist's 1953 sextet date with the great trumpeter Clifford Brown, Jimmy Heath (who doubles on tenor and baritone), pianist John Lewis, bassist Percy Heath and drummer Kenny Clarke. The six titles (plus three alternates) are highlighted by "It Could Happen to You," "Turnpike" and a classic rendition of "Get Happy." Although Johnson has a couple of features, Clifford Brown largely steals the show. This CD is well worth getting by listeners who do not have the music on Brownie's own Complete Blue Note set. ~ Scott Yanow
Professional Reviews
Mojo (Publisher) (12/01, p.126) - "...Direct and engaging..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » Trombone
Home » Music » Jazz » Jazz Instrument » Bebop
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top