Free Worldwide Shipping

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Free Your Mind...And Your Ass Will Follow [Bonus Tracks]

Album: Free Your Mind...And Your Ass Will Follow [Bonus Tracks]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Free Your Mind and Your Ass Will Follow
2)    Friday Night, August 14th
3)    Funky Dollar Bill
4)    I Wanna Know If It's Good to You?
5)    Some More
6)    Eulogy and Light
7)    Fish, Chips and Sweat
8)    Free Your Mind Radio Advert
9)    I Wanna Know If It's Good to You
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Funkadelic: George Clinton, Raymond Davis, Fuzzy Haskins, Calvin Simon, Grady Thomas (vocals); Eddie Hazel, Tawl Ross (guitar); Bernie Worrell (keyboards); Billy Nelson (bass); Tiki Fulwood (drums).
  • Recorded at United Sound Studios, Audio Graphic Services, and G-M Recording Studios, Detroit, Michigan.
  • Liner Note Author: Dean Rudland.
  • Funkadelic's self-titled debut may have touched upon drug-induced acid rock, but on their 1970 follow-up, FREE YOUR MIND AND YOUR ASS WILL FOLLOW, the band blows the door off its hinges. Look no further than the album-opening ten-minute title track--perhaps the most spaced out composition witnessed by rock & roll since the Rolling Stones' late-'60s psychedelic-phase--for the proof. Funkadelic is still a step away from perfecting its funk-rock craft. This album is hindered by very treble-heavy production, a sonic approach very unlike the group's future bass-indulgent works.
  • FREE YOUR MIND AND YOUR ASS WILL FOLLOW is one of Funkadelic's shortest albums, at barely over a half-hour in length. But the one-dimensional production proves even more frustrating. There's plenty of sonic experimentation going on within each composition, but it's all but impossible to decipher. Tracks such as "Friday Night, August 14th," "Funky Dollar Bill," and "I Wanna Know If It's Good To You?" are all highlights, the band locking into one killer funk groove after another. The haunting and tranquil "Eulogy and Light" closes the album with a fusion of backwards singing and gospel-like speech, a fitting end to Funkadelic's most 'out there' recording.
Professional Reviews
Record Collector (magazine) (p.101) - 5 stars out of 5 -- "Mixing a dirty groove with wacked-out sound effects and razor-sharp lyrics, this is a superb first release..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » R&B » Funk
People also searched for
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top