Free Shipping Anywhere in the World

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

From the Ground Up [EP] [Digipak]

Album: From the Ground Up [EP] [Digipak]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Compliment
2)    Youth
3)    December
4)    Perfect to Stay
5)    Under Heaven's Skies
6)    She Said
7)    Counting the Days
8)    Satellite
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Initial pressings of FROM THE GROUND UP will include a Collective Soul guitar pick.
  • Includes rare tracks and acoustic versions Collective Soul's hits.
  • Collective Soul: Dean Roland, Ed Roland, Will Turpin, Shane Evans, Joel Kosche.
  • Audio Mixer: Zack Odom.
  • Photographer: Lee Clower.
  • Though Collective Soul was often lumped in with the legions of second-string grunge bands that followed in the wake of Nirvana and Pearl Jam's massive success, astute listeners always knew that the group was about crafty pop songwriting more than overblown angst. It seems natural, then, that leader Ed Roland's tunes work just as well in a stripped-down setting as they do accompanied by a wall of slickly produced guitars.
  • FROM THE GROUND UP was recorded on a whim in only two days, in an effort to capture the group and a batch of their (mostly) new songs in a fresh, unadulterated state. The sound quality and performances here are the equal of anything Collective Soul has done. "Compliment" starts with some sparkling, soulful acoustic-guitar strumming in the vein of Tom Petty's WILDFLOWERS, while "She Said" is driven by a loping guitar/bass unison riff and bluesy vocals that recall the Black Crowes. The disc's highlight, though, is a slowed-down, acoustic version of the group's chart-topping "December," which puts focus on the song's dark and brooding lyrics. FROM THE GROUND UP is an illuminating look into the basic elements of the Collective Soul sound.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top