Free Worldwide Shipping

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Hero and Heroine [Bonus Tracks] [Remaster]

Album: Hero and Heroine [Bonus Tracks] [Remaster]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Autumn: Heroine's Theme/Deep Summer's Sleep/The Winter Long Album Version More Info... 8:30
2)    Sad Young Man Album Version More Info... 4:08
3)    Just Love Album Version More Info... 3:41
4)    Shine On Silver Sun Album Version More Info... 2:47
5)    Hero And Heroine Album Version More Info... 3:29
6)    Midnight Sun Album Version More Info... 3:06
7)    Out In The Cold Album Version More Info... 3:19
8)    Round And Round Album Version More Info... 4:44
9)    Lay A Little Light On Me Album Version More Info... 3:27
10)    Hero's Theme Album Version More Info... 2:28
11)    Still Small Voice Previously Unreleased Bonus Track More Info... 2:28
12)    Lay A Little Light On Me Early Version More Info... 2:22
Product Details


1. Autumn

2. Sad Young Man

3. Just Love

4. Shine On Silver Sun

5. Hero And Heroine

6. Midnight Sun

7. Out In The Cold

8. Round And Round

9. Lay A Little On Me

10. Hero's Theme

11. Still Small Voice

12. Lay A Little Light For Me (Early Version)

Performer Notes
  • A notable remaster of the highly innovative English psychedelic pop group's early 70s release; includes "Just Love" and "Midnight Sun." 1998, German import.
  • CD contains 2 bonus tracks.
  • Personnel: Dave Cousins, Dave Lambert (vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Charles Cronk (vocals, synthesizer); Rod Coombes (vocals, drums, percussion); John Hawken (piano, electric piano, organ, Mellotron, synthesizer).
  • Liner Note Author: John Tobler.
  • Recording information: Rosenberg Studios, Copenhagen, Denmark (11/1973).
  • Photographer: Anthony Evans.
  • The group's ballsiest album to date, a surging, hard-rocking follow-up to Bursting at the Seams, which debuted a new lineup, Richard Hudson, John Ford, and Blue Weaver having left to form their own group. In their places, ex-Nashville Teens keyboardman John Hawken and the more muscular rhythm section of Rod Coombes and Chas Cronk make their debut, on what is the Strawbs' first fully electric album. Dave Cousins' songwriting (augmented by Dave Lambert, who also contributes some slashing electric lead guitar) is still as romantic as ever in various spots ("Shine On Silver Sun," "Deep Summer's Sleep"), but also boasts dark visions ("Round and Round") which, coupled with new band's muscular playing, made the Strawbs one of the hardest-rocking progressive bands in the world. They should have been able to blow acts like the Moody Blues off the stage, so what went wrong with this album and the tour? One suspects it was a little too serious and complex for kids who were just looking for a soundtrack to their drug experiences, and it rocked too hard for the "sensitive" English-major types who got off on Cousins' lyrics -- in a sense, the Strawbs were squeezed out of the middle in a very small-scale, subtle 1970s version of the old folk-versus-rock battles of the '60s. Hero and Heroine deserved better, being one of the best guitar-driven progressive rock albums of its period. ~ Bruce Eder
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Folk
Home » Music » Classical
Home » Music » Pop » Art Rock
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top