We use cookies to provide essential features and services. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies .


COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...



Product Description
Product Details


1. Solsbury Hill

2. Shock The Monkey

3. Sledgehammer

4. Don't Give Up

5. Games Without Frontiers

6. Big Time

7. Burn You Up, Burn You Down

8. Growing Up

9. Digging In The Dirt

10. Blood Of Eden

11. More Than This

12. Biko

13. Steam

14. Red Rain

15. Here Come The Flood

16. San Jacinto

17. No Self Control

18. Cloudless

19. The Hythm Of The Heat

20. I Have The Touch

21. I Grieve

22. D.I.Y.

23. Different Drum

24. The Drop

25. The Tower That Ate People

26. Lovetown

27. Father, Son

28. Signal To Noise

29. Downside Up (Live)

30. Washing Of The Water

Performer Notes
  • Personnel includes: Peter Gabriel (vocals, flute, recorder, Bosendorfer piano, keyboards); Kate Bush, Sinead O'Connor (vocals); Richard Evans (acoustic guitar); Robert Fripp (electric & classical guitar, banjo); David Rhodes (guitar, 12-string guitar); Peter Green (electric guitar); Steve Hunter (pedal steel guitar); Daniel Lanois (guitar); Tim Green (tenor saxophone); Dick Morrisey (saxophone); Wayne Jackson (trumpet); Jozef Chirowski, Brian Eno (keyboards); Larry Fast (synthesizer, programming); Tony Levin (bass); Dominic Greesmith, Jerry Marotta (drums); Ged Lynch, Will White, Stephen Hague, Phil Collins (percussion); Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan (background vocals).
  • Producers include: Bob Ezrin, David Lord, Peter Gabriel, Daniel Lanois, Steve Lillywhite.
  • Recorded between 1977 & 2003.
  • Argentinian version features five alternative tracks to the U.S. version: "No Self Control", "I Have The Touch", "D.I.Y.", "Different Drum", and "Washing Of The Water".
  • Personnel: Richard Evans (vocals, whistling, guitar, acoustic guitar, mandolin, programming); David Rhodes (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, 12-string guitar, background vocals); Daniel Lanois (vocals, guitar, hi-hat, tambourine); Tony Levin (vocals, tuba); Karl Wallinger (vocals, piano, background vocals); Rachel Z (vocals, keyboards); Kate Bush, Melanie Gabriel, Peter Hammill (vocals, background vocals); Richard MacPhail, Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan, Sinad O'Connor, Ayub Ogada (vocals); Hugh Padgham, Steve Lillywhite (whistling); Robert Fripp (guitar, electric guitar, classical guitar, banjo); John Ellis and His SDB (guitar, background vocals); Gus Isidore, Leo Nocentelli (guitar); Jon Brion (mandolin, chamberlin); Jackie Shave (violin); Caroline LaVelle (cello); Chuck Norman (strings, keyboards, programming); London Session Orchestra (strings); Dick Morrissey, Mark Rivera (saxophone); Reggie Houston (baritone saxophone, horns); Wayne Jackson (trumpet, cornet); Renard Poch (trombone, horns); Jimmy Maelen (trombone, synthesizer, percussion); Don Mikkelsen (trombone); Richard Tee (piano); Josef Chirowski (keyboards); Larry Fast (synthesizer, bass synthesizer, Moog synthesizer, programming); Stewart Copeland (drums, hi-hat); Phil Collins (drums, surdo); Stephen Hague (drums, percussion, programming); Jerry Marotta, Manu Katch, Steve Gadd , Ged Lynch (drums, percussion); Dominic Greensmith, Billy Cobham, Allan Schwartzberg (drums); Babacar Faye (djembe); Arona N'diaye (sabar); Hossam Ramzy (surdo); Richard Chappell (tom tom, programming, drum programming, loops); Morris Pert, Will White (percussion); Chris Hughes , David Bottrill, Richard Blair, Alex Swift, Pete Davis (programming); David Sancious, Dee Lewis, Adrian Chivers, Coral Gordon, Jules Shear, P.P. Arnold (background vocals).
  • Audio Mixers: David Bottrill; Ronnie Robertson; Richard Blair; Richard Chappell; Stephen Hague; Tchad Blake; Ben Findlay; Richard Evans .
  • Audio Remixers: Danny Heaps; Julian Mendelsohn; Steve Osborne; Tom Lord-Alge.
  • Photographers: Steve Double; Phil Kamin; Hipgnosis; Armando Gallo; Neal Preston; Phil Kamin.
  • Although Peter Gabriel received the greatest-hits treatment with 1990's SHAKING THE TREE, the 13 years following that collection made it clear that another, more comprehensive retrospective was needed. During this time, Gabriel recorded only two official solo albums, US and UP, but the avant-pop icon also pursued other audio/visual projects, such as OVO, his contribution to London's massive Millennium Dome exhibit. The two-disc compilation HIT pairs his post-2000 work with his pioneering songs from 1977-1992, and the result is a remarkable musical document.
  • While HIT features the majority of the classic songs from SHAKING THE TREE, it also includes two essential tracks excluded from that earlier compilation, "The Rhythm of the Heat," a slow-burning exercise in tribal beats, and "In Your Eyes," the gorgeous ballad made famous by the film SAY ANYTHING. Moving on to latter-day Gabriel, HIT offers up the wonderfully grimy stomp of "Digging in the Dirt," the yearning "More Than This," and the previously unreleased "Burn You Up, Burn You Down," which hearkens back to his gloriously quirky mid-'80s period. Other post-SO songs include "Love to Be Loved," "The Tower That Ate People" (from the OVO project), and a live rendition of "Downside Up," featuring Gabriel's daughter Melanie on vocals.
Professional Reviews
Q (1/04, p.132) - 4 stars out of 5 - "Gabriel's discovery of world music and a growing mastery of atmosphere make his later work evermore compelling..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Home » Music » Pop » Art Rock
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top