Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

Images and Words


Product Description
Product Details


1. Pull Me Under

2. Another Day

3. Take The Time

4. Surrounded

5. Metropolis

6. Miracle And The Sleeper

7. Under A Glass Moon

8. Wait For Sleep

9. Learning To Live

Performer Notes
  • Dream Theater: James La Brie (vocals); John Petrucci (guitar); Kevin Moore (keyboards); John Myung (bass); Mike Portnoy (drums, percussion).
  • Additional personnel: Jay Beckenstein (soprano saxophone).
  • Recorded at Bear Tracks Studio, Suffern, New York and The Hit Factory, New York, New York between October & December 1991.
  • Personnel: James LaBrie (vocals, background vocals); John Petrucci (guitar); Jay Beckenstein (soprano saxophone); Kevin Moore (keyboards); Mike Portnoy (drums, percussion).
  • Audio Mixers: David Prater; Doug Oberkircher.
  • Recording information: Bear Tracks Studio, Suffern, NY (10/1991-12/1991); Hit Factory, New York, NY (10/1991-12/1991).
  • Photographer: Dan Muro.
  • While continuing to improve its musical chops and explore more progressive territory, Dream Theater reached its mainstream apex with 1992's Images and Words. Here the group capably combined prog rock high-mindedness with metal crunch and commercial accessibility on the opening track "Pull Me Under," helping to snare an audience big enough to push this album past gold sales status. What makes Images and Words stand out is the fluid marriage of shred tactics, soaring vocals, and catchy hooks, all wrapped up in a polished studio sound. Fans can argue whether this is the band's best, but there is no denying the power of epic, engaging songs like "Take the Time," "Under a Glass Moon," and "Metropolis, Pt. 1," a track that foreshadowed the 1999 outing Scenes from a Memory. Following Images and Words, Dream Theater became increasingly complex in its approach, to varying degrees of success, but this album represents a time when the ensemble brought progressive metal to the masses with little compromise.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Home » Music » Pop » Art Rock
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.

Back to top
We use essential and some optional cookies to provide you the best shopping experience. Visit our cookies policy page for more information.