Free Worldwide Shipping

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

King of the Blues

Album: King of the Blues: The Best of Muddy Waters
# Song Title   Time
1)    Mannish Boy
2)    I'm Your Hoochie Coochie Man
3)    Forty Days & Forty Nights
4)    Baby Please Don't Go
5)    She Moves Me
6)    Howlin' Wolf
7)    Got My Mojo Working
8)    I Want To Be Loved
9)    Honey Bee
10)    All Night Long
11)    Rock Me
12)    Smokestack Lightnin'
13)    Good News
14)    Sugar Sweet
15)    She's All Right
16)    Young Fashioned Ways
17)    Gone To Main Street
18)    Please Have Mercy
19)    Loving Man
20)    Sad Sad Day
21)    Mad Love (I Want You To Love Me)
22)    Stuff You Gotta Watch
23)    Too Young To Know
24)    Trouble No More
25)    Rollin' Stone
1)    I'm Ready
2)    Rollin' & Tumblin' Pt. 1
3)    Rollin' & Tumblin' Pt. 2
4)    I Just Want To Make Love To You
5)    They Call Me Muddy Waters
6)    Gypsy Woman
7)    I Can't Be Satisfied
8)    Mean Red Spider
9)    Long Distance Call
10)    Good Lookin' Woman
11)    Hard Days
12)    Screamin' & Cryin'
13)    Still a Fool
14)    Sad Letter Blues
15)    Muddy Jumps One
16)    Mean Disposition
17)    Little Annie Mae
18)    Stand Here Tremblin'
19)    Louisiana Blues
20)    Where's My Woman Been?
21)    Streamline Woman
22)    Walking Blues
23)    You're Gonna Miss Me (When I'm Dead & Gone)
24)    I Feel Like Going Home
25)    Train Fare Home Blues
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Muddy Waters (vocals, guitar).
  • The profile of Muddy Waters on the front of this album is a classic bit of color portrait photography. The bluesman seems to be staring up at something, a glazed look of wonder in his eyes. What could it be? Perhaps a vision of all the different "best of" sets and repackagings of his material that would happen in the future. In the end, it comes down to "That Same Thing" that Waters used to sing about, although he was talking about something else. The material this artist cut for Chess during this period is nothing short of a blues revelation. There has never been anything quite like it, before or after, and when one has heard Muddy Waters from this period, one has simply heard the best blues has to offer. This collection was the first "best of" Chess created, obviously mindful that what they had on their hands was nothing less than a tray of gold. The earliest pieces, such as "Louisiana Blues," are just marvelous, the country blues slide guitar augmented just so slightly by string bass, the harmonica of Little Walter, and the barest trace of percussion. Rhythmically, these performances are flawless and drenched with the feel as if they were slabs of chicken that had spent the day simmering in a jerk sauce. From there, one hears the classic Chicago blues combo sound emerging, which it does with great glory on tracks such as "Standing Around Crying." Yet with all the more extensive material that has been released of this artist since the late 50s, it is hard to conceive of why a consumer looking for Waters would settle for this collection. It is not a question of "less is more," as there is great consistency to the Waters discography from this period; listeners who enjoy this material will want more, more, more. ~ Eugene Chadbourne
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (6/21/01, p.78) - 5 stars out of 5 - "...This album exerted an overwhelming influence on John Mayall, Eric Clapton, the Yardbirds and the Rolling Stones....ranging from haunted, Delta-style the rollicking full-band sound..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Blues » Chicago Blues
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top