Free Worldwide Shipping

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range



Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Sun Ra & His Arkestra: Sun Ra (chant vocals, piano, Fender Rhodes piano, Hammond B-3 organ, ARP synthesizer, Mini-Moog synthesizer, bells); James Jacson (chant vocals, flute, oboe, bassoon); Marshall Allen (alto saxophone, flute, oboe); John Gilmore (tenor saxophone); Danny Thompson (baritone saxophone, flute); Julian Pressley (baritone saxophone); Michael Ray, Eddie Gale (trumpet); Disco Kid, Dale Williams (guitar); Richard Williams (bass); Artaukatune (congas, timpani); Lugman Ali, Michael Anderson (percussion).
  • Reissue producer: Jerry Gordon.
  • Recorded at Blank Tapes Studios, New York, New York on July 17, 1978. Includes liner notes by John Diliberto and Tom Buchler.
  • All tracks have been digitally remastered.
  • Personnel: Sun Ra (vocals, piano, electric piano, Fender Rhodes piano, organ, keyboards, synthesizer, ARP synthesizer, mini-Moog synthesizer, bells); James Jacson (vocals, flute, oboe, bassoon); June Tyson, Tahmaha (vocals); Dale Williams, Disco Kid (guitar); Eloe Omoe (flute, bass clarinet); Marshall Allen (flute, oboe, alto saxophone); Danny Thompson (flute, baritone saxophone); John Gilmore (tenor saxophone); Julian Pressley, Julian Priester (baritone saxophone); Michael Ray (trumpet, flugelhorn); Eddie Gale (trumpet); Artaukatune (drums, timpani); Atakatun Odun (congas); Luqman Ali, Michael Anderson (percussion).
  • Recording information: Blank Tapes, New York, NY (07/17/1978).
  • Photographers: Spencer Weston; Veryl Oakland.
  • Arranger: Sun Ra.
  • By the time this album was recorded in 1978, Sun Ra and his Arkestra had been living in Philadelphia for a decade. They journeyed to New York City to record this project for the Philly Jazz Label. The rhythmic bearing of the music, as well as Sun Ra's use of a Fender Rhodes electric piano (especially on the nine-and-a-half minute "Twin Stars Of Thence"), align this music with some of the post-BITCHES BREW releases by Miles Davis.
  • Ra even brought along two electric guitarists for the date, Dale Williams and Disco Kid. As late '70s fusion-flavored jazz goes, this stands up extremely well, with its rhythmic sensibilities harking back with gusto to earlier decades in the century. The album closer is the chant-filled "There Are Other Worlds (They Have Not Told You Of)"--11 minutes of ever-undulating and gently propulsive groove. Ra's piano playing is gorgeously ethereal on this number.
Professional Reviews
Spin (1/01, p.76) - Ranked #9 in Spin's "Top 10 Reissues of the Year [2000]" - "...the closest Ra came to an easy-listening disc....A beautiful place to eneter Ra's psych-jazz omniverse."

Alternative Press (3/01, pp.92-4) - 4 out of 5 - "...Impossibly funky....Often compared to Miles Davis' heaviest jazz-rock-funk fusion, LANQUIDITY is dense, rhythmic and curiously hypnotic..."

The Wire (10/00, p.60) - "'s music that doesn't sound much like anything else you might have heard..."

JazzTimes (12/00, pp.99-100) - "...A great cosmic dance party platter....surprisingly accessible..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top