Little River Band - Greatest Hits
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock

Little River Band - Greatest Hits

Artist: Little River Band

Elsewhere US$21.21 US$9.19   Save US$12.02 (57%)
Free Shipping Worldwide
Ships from UK
Order now for Christmas delivery
Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Label: Capitol
Album: Little River Band - Greatest Hits
# Song Title   Time
1)    Lonesome Loser
2)    Help Is on Its Way
3)    Cool Change
4)    Take It Easy on Me
5)    Face in the Crowd
6)    Reminiscing
7)    Night Owls, The
8)    Lady
9)    We Two
10)    Other Guy, The
11)    Man on Your Mind
12)    I'll Always Call Your Name
13)    Down on the Border
14)    Happy Anniversary
15)    Playing to Win
16)    It's Not a Wonder
17)    You're Driving Me Out of My Mind
18)    It's a Long Way There

Little River Band - Greatest Hits [CD]
  • Little River Band - Greatest Hits [CD]

Performer Notes
  • Little River Band: Beeb Birtles, Graham Goble (vocals, guitar); Wayne Nelson (vocals, bass); Glenn Shorrock, John Farnham (vocals); Rick Formosa (guitar, strings); David Briggs, Stephen Housden (guitar); Bill Harrower (saxophone, trumpet); Peter Jones (piano, synthesizer, strings); Peter Sullivan, David Herschfelder (piano); Bill Cuomo (synthesizer); Roger McLachian, George McArdle, Clive Harrison, Mike Clarke (bass); Derek Pellicci (drums).
  • Producers include: Little River Band, Glenn Wheatley, George Martin, Ernie Rose.
  • Compilation producer: Cheryl Pawelski.
  • Recorded between 1975 & 1982. Includes liner notes by Simon Glickman.
  • Digitally remastered using 24-bit technology by Evren Goknar (Capitol Mastering).
  • Liner Note Author: Simon Glickman.
  • Photographer: Jeffrey Mayer.
  • With 11 hit songs breaking the Top 40, Australia's Little River Band was one of the most successful groups to emerge from down under. With the perfect sound via Glenn Shorrock's relaxed voice alongside the smooth flow of the guitar and keyboard work, LRB's polished style was draped all over radio throughout the late '70s and early '80s. This compilation from their most lucrative years contains all their chart hits, plus the sneaky-sounding "Down on the Border." Blending rock elegance with catchy, full-flavored harmonies, each of the songs on this album contains an element of gracious musical craft, whether it's a romantic ballad like "Lady" or an up-tempo rock song like "The Night Owls." The quirky verses of "Lonesome Loser" come out colorful and sleek, and the horns in "Reminiscing" emphasize the swagger and swoop of its debonair sound. Shorrock's voice can be fully appreciated on the beautiful "Cool Change," one of music's prettiest slow songs. As a compilation, this album truly is a "greatest hits." ~ Mike DeGagne

Format:CD (0 Disc); Stereo
Other Information:72435219112
Studio/Live: Studio
Release Date:8 May, 2000


1. Lonesome Loser

2. Help Is On Its Way

3. Coolchange

4. Take It Easy On Me

5. Face In The Crowd

6. Reminiscing

7. The Night Owls

8. Lady

9. We Two

10. The Other Guy

11. Man On Your Mind

12. I'll Always Call Your Name

13. Down On The Border

14. Happy Anniversary

15. Playing To Win

16. It's Not A Wonder

17. You're Driving Me Out Of My Mind

18. It's A Long Way There

Tell a friend

Their Email:

4 review(s)
All Reviews
ricky lamaro on
I received this cd thanku
Hari Gangisetty on
Finally, a record label understands what it means to update their old vinyl/cassette catalog onto CD. When "Greatest Hits" first came out in 1982, it contained 12 tracks and nearly fifty minutes of music (fairly generous for the time). This 2000 update "Greatest Hits" has been expanded to 18 tracks and nearly eighty minutes of music. [Are you paying attention, MCA, with your pared down Millennium series?]
This new release adds the hits since the 1982 edition: "We Two" (#22), "You're Driving Me Out of My Mind" (#35) and "Playing To Win" (#60), which featured John Farnham, who replaced original vocalist Glenn Shorrock in 1983 when he left to go solo. [Shorrock would return in 1988 when Farnham left to pursue a solo career.] You also get another Farnham vocal "Face In the Crowd" from the album No Reins. In addition you get their second U.S. single "I'll Always Call Your Name" (#62) from 1977 and "It's Not a Wonder" (#51) from 1980.

This is infectious MOR pop. The Little River Band specialized in catchy hooks, lush vocals, and understated guitar leads to create a unique and wonderful sound on such lovely ballads as "Lady," "Reminiscing," "Cool Change," as well as mid-tempo rockers as "Help Is On the Way" and "Man On Your Mind." Sure, You could spring for the 2-disc anthology Reminiscing, but this has all the hits at less than half the price. RECOMMENDED
Caryl Fantham on
This band is awesome! Old band, but their music is timeless, very cruisy with good words. Pretty much every song is good on here, my top favourites are cool change, reminising and playing to win, but they are good. Really good driving music as well, so put in your car. A must have for any music lover.
Christopher Wesselingh on
The Little River Band had many good songs and many good albums and this is a fine collection of their songs and well worth listening to and I love it as a cruisy little number and I still find them a relaxing group with a feel good feeling which makes them a positive group to have in my collection hope you like them as much takes us back to a time when they were tops.

Review this Product


Related Searches


This item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.