Free Shipping Anywhere in the World

Shop over 1 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

The Lonesome Jubilee

Hurry - Only 2 left in stock!
Album: The Lonesome Jubilee
# Song Title   Time
1)    Paper In Fire More Info... 3:50
2)    Down And Out In Paradise More Info... 3:37
3)    Check It Out More Info... 4:20
4)    The Real Life More Info... 3:57
5)    Cherry Bomb More Info... 4:47
6)    We Are The People More Info... 4:17
7)    Empty Hands More Info... 3:42
8)    Hard Times For An Honest Man More Info... 3:26
9)    Hot Dogs And Hamburgers More Info... 4:03
10)    Rooty Toot Toot More Info... 3:29
Product Details


1. Paper In Fire

2. Down And Out In Paradise

3. Check It Out

4. The Real Life

5. Cherry Bomb

6. We Are The People

7. Empty Hands

8. Hard Times For An Honest Man

9. Hotdogs And Hamburgers

10. Rooty Toot Toot

Performer Notes
  • Personnel: John Cougar Mellencamp (vocals, guitar); Larry Crane (guitar, steel guitar, banjo, mandolin, harmonica); Mike Wanchic (guitar, banjo, dobro, dulcimer); Kenny Aronoff (hammered dulcimer, vibraphone, percussion); Toby Myers (banjo, bass); Lisa Germano (fiddle); John Cascella (accordion, melodica, keyboards); Pat Peterson (percussion, background vocals); Crystal Talifero (background vocals).
  • Personnel: John Cascella (whistling, mandola, pennywhistle, accordion, melodica, saxophone, keyboards, claves); Larry Crane (guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, steel guitar, lap steel guitar, banjo, autoharp, mandolin, harmonica, background vocals); Mike Wanchic (guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, dobro, banjo, dulcimer, background vocals); Toby Myers (banjo, bass guitar, background vocals); Kenny Aronoff (dulcimer, hammer dulcimer, vibraphone, drums, congas, tambourine, background vocals); Lisa Germano (fiddle); Pat Peterson (cowbells, tambourine, percussion, background vocals); Crystal Taliefero (background vocals).
  • Audio Mixers: David Leonard ; Don Gehman.
  • Recording information: Belmont Mall Studio, Belmont, IN (09/1986-06/1987).
  • With 1985's SCARECROW, John Cougar Mellencamp established himself as an uncompromising artist fully in control of his professional and artistic pursuits. With THE LONESOME JUBILEE, however, he set out to paint his masterpiece. Fully embracing the aesthetic found on the classic hits "Pink Houses" and "Jack and Diane," the Indiana native explores rock's rootsier elements, while forgoing the poetic aspirations of Bruce Springsteen and Bob Dylan in favor of simpler, straight-from-the-gut lyricism.
  • In the process, Mellencamp created the trademark working-class pop hybrid that defined his brand of "heartland rock." Backed by folksy fiddle and accordion, jangling power-pop guitars, and a pounding beat equal parts Memphis soul and Rolling Stones, the singer repeatedly explores the twin themes of broken dreams ("Paper in Fire," "The Real Life") and simple pleasures ("Cherry Bomb," "Rooty Toot Toot"). Simultaneously an arena-ready Grand Statement and a Saturday night hoe-down, THE LONESOME JUBILEE goes a long way towards fusing the rebel spirit and brash roar of no-frills rock & roll with the emotionally direct twang of the best country music.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Folk
Home » Music » Pop » Folk Rock
Back to top